They say you don't really know until you try. Sony, evidently, has taken that nugget of conventional wisdom to heart, as it's added a clause to its online terms of service that doesn't exactly have the firmest legal footing. In short, you can still break your lawyer out of cold storage and have a grand old time individually, but the second you bring in backup, you forfeit one very important tool: your rights.
The popular file sharing and synching service known as Dropbox has been receiving some heat lately for changes the company made to its Terms of Service (TOS). For many, the point of concern was a section about compliance with law enforcement, in which Dropbox outlined situations where it would feel compelled to fork over personal data about its users. This sparked a bit of outrage among fans of the service, so Dropbox decided to set the record straight in a lengthy blog post explaining the changes.
What Facebook essentially did was grant themselves the right to all user-uploaded content for, well, forever. It no longer mattered if you removed anything from the site, because it would remain in Facebook's archives, giving the site free reign to use the content for as long as it likes.
To justify the decision, Facebook compared the policy change to that of sending an email to a friend. Even if you delete the sent email from your sent box, a copy still remains in the recipient's inbox, so according to Facebook, it was okay for the site to keep and use your content.
Here's one for Facebook: The squeeky wheel gets the grease.