Redownloads No Longer Free on iPhone App Store


iPhone users beware. According to , some users running the 3.0 Beta firmware are finding out they're unable to redownload already purchased apps without paying for them all over again.

"You've already purchased this. You can redownload it for free on your computer, or tap Buy to buy it again," a message reads when attempting to redownload.

Coming to the iPhone (and available in the 3.0 Beta firmware) is the ability to manage and switch between iTunes accounts. Charging for redownloads might be the company's way of ensuring purchased content doesn't get shared between accounts. For example, logging into your account on a co-workers iPhone and 'redownloading' an app that was never purchased for it.

We'd like to know how you feel about this potential new policy. Post your comments below!

Image Credit: TheiPhoneBlog

Around the web