Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The Ubuntu 8.04 (64-bit) survival guide!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 1:33 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
This is for Ubuntu 8.04 (64-bit) LTS Desktop: Released April 2008 and maintained until April 2011 – ideal for large deployments. If you use another OS, to include Ubuntu 9.04, 9.10, etc... and have problems please create a new thread.

Ubuntu 8.04 (64-bit) GPU Guide - - FahMon-2.3.99.1 - - Temp monitoring - - Sharing - - Tedster's Big WU works with Ubuntu 8.04 (64-bit)

SMP Setup
Go to Applications > Accessories > Terminal copy and paste (Shift+Insert or right click+paste) Ensure you press Enter to execute the last line of code in each group.
Update the system.
Quote:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Install ia32-libs.
Quote:
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
Remove powernowd
Code:
sudo apt-get remove powernowd

Create new folders, download & extract the client, and start the client.
Quote:
mkdir -p ~/fah/smp
cd ~/fah/smp
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... -Linux.tgz
tar xvf FAH6.29-Linux.tgz
./fah6 -verbosity 9 -smp
Press enter for the last command. If you have an i7 with Hyper Threading or more than 4 cores, than add the appropriate # after -smp. Example: ./fah6 -smp 8 -verbosity 9

Press Ctrl+C to stop the client. Wait a few seconds for the processes to stop. Press Ctrl+C again to refresh the CLI and begin typing your next command.


You can also use the GUI and set everything up the old fashion Windows way. I do not recommend this, but some might prefer it. :evil:
Update the system and install ia32-libs. Go to System > Administration > Update Manager > Select Check and then Update. After it is done, close the Update Manager. Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager and search for "ia32" right click on ia32-libs and select Mark for Installation > Then select Apply.
Image
Remove Powernowd. After the ia32-libs are installed search for powernowd. Right click on it and Mark it for complete removal. Apply and exit after it has been removed.
Image

Create new folders. Go to Places > Home > Right click and select Create Folder > name it fah > create another folder inside that one called SMP.
Image

Download and extract the client. Download and move it from the Desktop to the smp folder you just created. After you move it right click and select Extract Here.
Image

Start the Client Go to Applications > Accessories > Terminal and copy and paste (Shift+Insert or right click+paste). Press Enter to execute the last command.
Code:
cd ~/fah/smp
./fah6 -smp -verbosity 9
Press enter for the last command. If you have an i7 with Hyper Threading or more than 4 cores, than add the appropriate # after -smp. Example: ./fah6 -smp 8 -verbosity 9
Image

Press Ctrl+C to stop the client. Wait a few seconds for the processes to stop. Press Ctrl+C again to refresh the CLI and begin typing your next command.

Image


Last edited by Gigabyte on Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 pm, edited 9 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:09 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
FahMon-2.3.99.1. Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. Search for the underlined words, and ensure they're installed or marked for installation.

Image
Image
Image
Image

Go to Applications > Accessories > Terminal. Copy and paste the entire group of code into the Terminal window. Ensure you press enter to execute the last line.
Code:
wget http://fahmon.net/downloads/current.php?linux
FahMon-2.3.99.1.tar.bz2
tar -xvf FahMon-2.3.99.1.tar.bz2
cd FahMon-2.3.99.1
Copy and paste each individually.
Code:
./configure
Code:
make
Code:
sudo make install
Quote:
sudo ldconfig

Go to Applications > System Tools > FahMon


Last edited by Gigabyte on Sat Oct 10, 2009 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:13 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Temp monitor. Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. Install lm-sensors and the sensors-applet.
Image

Open the terminal and run
Code:
sudo sensors-detect
Select Yes or Enter for everything. The last question is the only tricky one. It defaults to no and you need to select Yes! Restart the PC after its done.

After you log back in right click on the panel and select Add to Panel...
Image

Type sen and add the Hardware Sensors Monitor.
Image

You should see the Hardware Sensors Monitor on the panel now. You can configure what is displayed. Right click on it, select Preferences, and select the Sensors tab.
Image

It picked up my GTX 285 first. The CPU cores are at the bottom. I like to monitor the fans speeds too. FWIW temp1 is the NB and temp 2 is the SB.
Image Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:06 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Sharing. After I get everything up and running I like to share the fah directory so I can monitor everything from my main Windows 7 (64-bit) Ultimate PC.

Shutdown the SMP and/or GPU client(s) before you proceed.

Go to Places > Home > Right click on the fah folder and select Sharing Options.
Image
Check the first option.
Image
You should receive the following message.
Image
Install the service.
This will log you off and then you will need to log back in. This is why you should have already shutdown the SMP and/or GPU client(s).
Image
Go to Places > Home > Right click on the fah folder and select Sharing Options again. Check all 3 options and Create Share.
Image
Select Add the permissions automatically
Image

Thats it! Go to your Windows PC and setup FahMon.
\\computer_name\fah

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:28 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
does the fahmon guide work in 9.04?





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:07 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Tedster wrote:
does the fahmon guide work in 9.04?
Ted
It does now. Thanks for the feedback.

If you use 9.04 or another OS please follow Tedster's lead. Start a new thread with the details. After the issue has been identified and resolved I might make changes here. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:28 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
Also, in 9.04, the "sensors-applet" is not automatically installed.





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:15 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
It's not on 8.04 either :?
I wrote:
Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. Install lm-sensors and the sensors-applet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:19 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
I installed that from seeing the picture.





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:31 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Tedster wrote:
I installed that from seeing the picture.

Ted
:lol:

Those pics are meant to be visual aids. It was green, but I had taken that one before the others so I didn't have both highlighted. Very demanding :evil:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:30 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
bump


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:19 am 
Million Club
Million Club
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:31 pm
Posts: 99
Sticky/Thread of all Threads vote!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:36 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
jeremiah19 wrote:
Thread of all Threads vote!
Thread of all threads was done a while ago (Last edited by Satchboy on 03 Oct 2009), but I had it hidden in the high performance section :D Its probably more useful out here in the open.


Satchboy wrote:
bump
I think I'll have another :D


Thanks for the move!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:22 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4733
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
I set up a linux folder using your guide. Everything went swimmingly until I got to this:
Gigabyte wrote:
Copy and paste each individually.
Code:
./configure
Code:
make
Code:
sudo make install
Quote:
sudo ldconfig



For some reason it just would not work when I tried to copy/paste. I could do the copy/paste but the instruction would not work correctly. However, when I manually typed them they all worked.
Thanks for the guide. I've got it marked as a Favorite for when I get the equipment for more.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:08 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
dedgar wrote:
I set up a linux folder using your guide. Everything went swimmingly until I got to this:
Gigabyte wrote:
Copy and paste each individually.
Code:
./configure
Code:
make
Code:
sudo make install
Quote:
sudo ldconfig
For some reason it just would not work when I tried to copy/paste. I could do the copy/paste but the instruction would not work correctly. However, when I manually typed them they all worked.
Thanks for the guide. I've got it marked as a Favorite for when I get the equipment for more.
You have to press Enter after you copy & paste each line :?

Please explain 'would not work' in more detail if pressing Enter doesn't fix it :D Screenshots are always welcome.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:07 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4733
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
Gigabyte wrote:
You have to press Enter after you copy & paste each line :?

Please explain 'would not work' in more detail if pressing Enter doesn't fix it :D Screenshots are always welcome.


Yes, I know you have to press 'enter' after the commands. Screen shots are not forthcoming as I have the system up and folding and I don't want to go back and reinstall.
When I did the ./configure command, it seemed to work but I'm not sure if it actually finished doing what it should.
With the make command the computer just sat there doing nothing.
I tried copy/paste several times to make sure I wasn't getting an extra 'space' (like hitting the space bar twice) that might have been messing things up.
And once again, I did hit 'enter'.
That was copy/paste method. Physically typing in the commands and hitting enter worked.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:51 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:58 am
Posts: 456
Location: Ann Arbor
outstanding guide, I have very very little Linux experience and I got both FAH and FahMon installed with no issues.

Didn't really increase my PPD over Windows SMP though, maybe because I am running it in VBox opposed to duel booting. Just set my laptop to duel boot Vista and Mint, if that goes well I'll probably do the same for my desktop.


Thanks!


EDIT: Never mind, it actually more than doubled my PPD


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:04 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
GPU Overclocking with NVClock 0.8 (beta4). Sorry this one is quick and dirty for now. Guinea pigs are welcome! Don't blame me if you burn up your video card :twisted:

Remember to execute (press Enter) the last command in each group.
Install libgtk2.0-dev
Code:
sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-dev -y

You can search for it if you like.
Image

Download and Install NVClock 0.8 (beta4).
Code:
cd ~/Desktop
wget http://www.linuxhardware.org/nvclock/nvclock0.8b4.tar.gz
tar xvf nvclock0.8b4.tar.gz
cd nvclock0.8b4
./configure
make
sudo make install

You can use the "nvclock" command or the GUI.
Code:
nvclock_gtk

Image
Image

The older version might work for some of you, and its easier to install. :D It doesn't hurt to try.
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:19 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
The new version is not working for me in 9.04





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:39 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Tedster wrote:
The new version is not working for me in 9.04
More info is needed :x Does the old version work?

You're probably having trouble compiling the source code. Is the build-essential package installed?
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
Run these commands individually.

./configure
make
sudo make install


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group