Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 3:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Secure" auto-login for Vista
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 12:54 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:08 pm
Posts: 2429
So I like to have my backup, antivirus, firewall, etc. all load before I sue my PC, because that way I can be protected, as well as have a backup if I delete something important. I also don't like having to wait 30 seconds for the OS to boot, and then another 30 while everything loads, and then deal with another 60 seconds of backing up files, because typically I just boot the PC and then go change or something. An option to solve this would be auto-login, the only problem is that means anyone could use my PC. Is there any way to make Windows (Vista) automatically load up everything, but still require a password (kind of like turning on the PC, and then locking it with Windows+L as soon as it can)?

Or if not, can I set some sort of .bat to run on startup that can lock the system?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 4:50 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/security/learnmore/tips/schnoll1.mspx

idk if that works in vista, but you can try and place a shortcut in your start-up folder.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 5:21 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:08 pm
Posts: 2429
Airheadq wrote:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/security/learnmore/tips/schnoll1.mspx

idk if that works in vista, but you can try and place a shortcut in your start-up folder.


Not exactly what I was looking for, but I really appreciate having any sort of response.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 7:32 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
I usually put vista in hibernation mode. (the system uptime is usually like a couple weeks :D )

When you want to turn off your computer, don't put it into hibernation mode as this will save and write all the data to the hd. You can even remove power form the system i.e the battery or remove the power cord. Then when I need windows again, I just turn it on as normal, it will resume form hibernation, log in and everything is as I left it. I wouldn't recommend games or anything intensive however but text documents and the like are still there.

You might want to configure the back up software to be on demand or something.


Last edited by Airheadq on Fri May 15, 2009 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 1:07 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
AV boots first in the services, so you're cool there. Firewalls don't need to be up right away and can load in the middle.

I don't understand doing backups at bootup though. What if the last time you shutdown something was wrong? You boot up, and you backup the problem right away and now both are toast. That's why I don't like scheduled backups very much. Just manually do it on the weekend, or on the fly for documents.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group