Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: How to Install FiestyFawn 7.04 on USB drive.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:48 pm 

This is a howto on installing Feisty Fawn 7.04 on a external USB hard drive with no support for USB in the BIOS

First of all I am a newbie to Linux. Second you can do this too with a little trying on your part. Third there is all kinds of info out there if you search for it. There is one problem though. All the info I saw assumed that you had Linux to work with. Well DUH!! You wouldn’t be trying to install it if you had it already. So we are going to work with the assumption that you have Windoze, are fed up with all the crap, and want to try something new.

Step 1) Fire up your favorite browser (Firefox or Opera) and download Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04 Live CD ISO. Next download the Ubuntu text base install ISO. You will need both for this method of install. Yes it’s a lot to download, but how much do you want to install it? Burn the ISOs to a CD. Connect your USB drive to make sure your system can see it. (This always helps as a first step.) Everything working? Good, lets get started. My system has 2 SATA 80GB drives, and 1 USB 80GB external drive. Yours may differ if you have a ATA drive and the USB drive. My system also has no support for booting to a USB device even though the options are there in the BIOS. Ok set your BIOS to boot from the CD first then the Hard drive second. Now save the changes and exit the BIOS.