Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ZoneAlarm + IIS problem
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 11:16 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:11 am
Posts: 124
Location: 127.0.0.1
Hello,

Has anyone experienced problems with IIS when ZoneAlarm is installed? Here is what happened:

My computer runs Windows XP Pro with free ZoneAlarm. Just the other day after a trip, i wanted to setup the web server using IIS so my friends will be able to see the pictures i took.

Being lazy, I didn't want to write any HTML pages, so I enabled browsing for the directory in which the picture files reside. I was able to browse all the way into the directory; however I could not open the picture files.

the IP of my computer is 192.168.0.100; however, my router box has virtual server capability. I have it setup so for HTTP requests, it will forward them to the computer. In addition, I have enabled allow access and allow server for both trusted zone and internet in ZoneAlarm.

Later on, I discovered that the pictures would load if I use http://192.168.0.100/pics/pic1.jpg. But if I use the IP of the router, I was only able to browse to the pics directory, but could not open any jpeg files.

After uninstalling zoneAlarm, everything worked fine. I just feel uneasy about not running ZoneAlarm...

has anyone experienced this kind of problems? And has anyone found a way to solve it? Thanks!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ZoneAlarm + IIS problem
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 1:35 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
emanresu wrote:
Hello,

Has anyone experienced problems with IIS when ZoneAlarm is installed? Here is what happened:

My computer runs Windows XP Pro with free ZoneAlarm. Just the other day after a trip, i wanted to setup the web server using IIS so my friends will be able to see the pictures i took.

Being lazy, I didn't want to write any HTML pages, so I enabled browsing for the directory in which the picture files reside. I was able to browse all the way into the directory; however I could not open the picture files.

the IP of my computer is 192.168.0.100; however, my router box has virtual server capability. I have it setup so for HTTP requests, it will forward them to the computer. In addition, I have enabled allow access and allow server for both trusted zone and internet in ZoneAlarm.

Later on, I discovered that the pictures would load if I use http://192.168.0.100/pics/pic1.jpg. But if I use the IP of the router, I was only able to browse to the pics directory, but could not open any jpeg files.

After uninstalling zoneAlarm, everything worked fine. I just feel uneasy about not running ZoneAlarm...

has anyone experienced this kind of problems? And has anyone found a way to solve it? Thanks!


This is a rather useful site for ZoneAlarm and its uses: http://www.markusjansson.net/eza.html

Did you try and play around with the file permissions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 11:11 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
It sounds like you need to set up your trusted zones a little bit more to handle the requests.

You might also try a different firewall app (Sygate or Kerio are good and I think they both have free versions/free home use) that are (considerably) more configurable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:35 am 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 3219
Location: Da Basestar
emanresu,

Post a copy of your ZoneAlarm logs for the relevant connection attempts. Once we know what it's blocking, we can figure it out how to allow it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 7:32 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:11 am
Posts: 124
Location: 127.0.0.1
well, I did set up a trusted zone range from 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.0.255, which should have convered both the router and the computer.

Right now, I have uninstalled zoneAlarm. I will do what [ch]amsalot suggested and post a log here... however, it won't be until tomorrow. some stupid thunder storm struck last night and my apartment was out of power. Not sure when they will fix it.

I will try to stick with zoneAlarm... swtich to sygate or kerio only if zonealarm is hopeless.

thank you for your help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:03 am 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 3219
Location: Da Basestar
The router is passing your friend's IP, which is probably still in the Internet Zone.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.