Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CCNA/CCNP Lab Setup
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 6:00 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 60
Hey everyone...I am looking to further my career goal and become CCNA and CCNP certified within the next year or two and need a little advice. I have simulators and the books but nothing can replace hands on learning especially in an interview situation. So my question to you guys is what do i need to setup a CCNA/CCNP lab to learn on? I am not familiar with CISCO networking so please give specifics on what routers and such that I will need. Also I would like to keep a resonable budget of less than 700 if possible.

Thanks
G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:04 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24238
Location: Granite Heaven
Cisco routers cost thousands .. often tens of thousands ... of dollars.

Well, they do make hardware for SOHO that costs under $500 but you don't need any hand's on work with a router that has 8 ports and a couple of settings.

You would benefit, I'm sure, from playing with their more advanced hardware (which have everything from hardware based IPTable security, built-in SBCs and VoIP gateways) .. but those are well outside your budget.

Here is an example of some Cisco products for sale as cheaply as I can find: link


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: I See
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:54 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 60
I am not talkking about getting brand new stuff. I want used if i can get it.

I am sure i read somewhere that you need at least 2 routers and a switch? Then there was a link to buy a router 2509? sound right? And it was like 90 bucks or something like that.

Thanks
G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:53 am 
TravBv2.0
TravBv2.0
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:35 am
Posts: 3898
Location: In the server room
My CCNA book suggested picking up some Cisco 1841 routers or 2800 series routers. There are several simulators you can use, both propietary and open-source, so take your pick.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:27 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 7:39 am
Posts: 691
Location: Folding as QQue - que'ing up #300 of pork and beef
Go out on eBay and there are a couple of sellers that specialized in used equipment bundled for intro CCNA or you could mirror them and piecemeal a lab yourself.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.