Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Speedtest.net
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:51 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:31 am
Posts: 672
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Just tried this again. I'm running Windows XP Pro, FX-62, 2G DDR, Linksys wired cable router using Time-Warner's Road Runner ISP. Am I getting my moneys worth for the net, HD DVR and phone bundle? I'm not that network savy. Just like to play WoW.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedtest.net
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:11 am 
Million Club
Million Club

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 639
You must be in area where they upgraded RR Turbo to 10 down and 1M upload.

So if those numbers stay roughly the same, no matter what time of day, or day of the week, then you are golden.

I get 4920 for 5M down and 367 for 384k up on my RR connection.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:52 am 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6405
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
I don't know how much your spending for your service, but it looks to be pretty good speeds.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:55 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 2281
Yeah those are very good speeds.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:47 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 1156
yea i just did mine.
i pay about $40 per month for just internet.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:13 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:41 pm
Posts: 4106
Location: Stuck at Tim Horton's Drive-Thru!!
Just did mine.

Image

Seems okay to me..thoughts?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:35 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:51 pm
Posts: 452
Location: HOCKEYTOWN
Image

That's what I get at this moment.

Remember that the advertised speeds from your ISP are theoretical maximums under ideal network conditions. You won't always get near the maximums and will rarely get the actual maximums.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:49 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:31 am
Posts: 672
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Thanks for the replies. Looks like I'm good. Makes me happy! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:32 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6405
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
Image

Here is mine on AT&T DSL


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:54 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:40 pm
Posts: 679
Location: In the hills of San Diego
Image
Kind of slow tonight. I usually hit close to 20Mbs down and closer to 600kbs up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:57 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:01 pm
Posts: 1260
this is my laptop which accesses our wired/wireless router for the web at work via wireless. We have 7 other pcs Wired in.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:48 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:31 am
Posts: 672
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Edward6287 wrote:
Image

That's what I get at this moment.

Remember that the advertised speeds from your ISP are theoretical maximums under ideal network conditions. You won't always get near the maximums and will rarely get the actual maximums.


That is just amazing!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:18 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:01 pm
Posts: 1260
and here's my home wireless

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: mine
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 2:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:00 pm
Posts: 6
it can vary on the server location but mine stay about the same.
Image
Image
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 12:23 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6405
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
I am bashing my head against the wall trying to figure out why you're hi-jacking this thread istead of asking your question in a new thread?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 2:56 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 14
Didn't see that there was any real point to this thread so I didn't feel like I was hijacking anything. I figured that people who are getting speeds like the ones posted would be pretty in tune to maximizing their connections so tapping into some of their knowledge seemed like a good idea. I apologize to Azgaryth


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 4:21 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6405
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
JoeDQ1 wrote:
Didn't see that there was any real point to this thread so I didn't feel like I was hijacking anything. I figured that people who are getting speeds like the ones posted would be pretty in tune to maximizing their connections so tapping into some of their knowledge seemed like a good idea. I apologize to Azgaryth


It's just good forum edict if you're going to ask a question to open your own thread. The point of this one is for people to show their own speeds. You will more then likely get better responses if you open a thread dedicated to your problem instead of turning the focus of this thread into your problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 7:53 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 14
I hear you, Again I didn't think it was doing any harm and not totally unrelated because I want the type of speeds people are posting but not achieving anything close to what I am paying for.... If I had posted my speed and asked something like how are you guys achieving such great download speeds, I can only get 1.7 Mps out of my DSL... by posting the background I laid out it was just jumping ahead to the questions that might follow... not to completely divert the thread.

So sorry about that, I did not think I was completely OT.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedtest.net
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 1:38 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:53 pm
Posts: 11
My Internet speed test results are,
Download Speed: 18.89 Mbps
Upload Speed:0.795 Mbps.
I perform this test from ScanMySpeed.com


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedtest.net
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:53 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:31 am
Posts: 672
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
5 years later, new house, new computer, new internet.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group