Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MS JVM Back in SP2?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:31 pm 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
I installed XP and am trying SP2 RC1 on it...

Logged right into Commport Chat W/O d/l'ing Sun's JVM...

Hmmmm.......

Do we think maybe now that MS and Sun made nice-nice, that we will get an MS JVM again?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:45 pm 
In the lab!
In the lab!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:47 am
Posts: 831
Location: Secret Laboratory
there was a big hub bub a month or two back that MS and Sun finally settled. Well MS payed like 2 billion to sun to shut them up. Part of the deal was MS could use their java VM again...

They're claiming to work together on all sorts of stuff now. But we will just have to wait and see.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:50 pm 
In the lab!
In the lab!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:47 am
Posts: 831
Location: Secret Laboratory
FYI - SP2 RC2 is out so you might want to check it out

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodte ... eview.mspx


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:59 pm 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
Dexter wrote:
FYI - SP2 RC2 is out so you might want to check it out


Duh, I actually meant to say RC2 ;)

Just d/l'ed yesterday...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:36 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
I haven't heard of that being included again....sure it wasn't installed from before hand?? It's not like it's removed with the application of the SP


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:21 am 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
furball146 wrote:
I haven't heard of that being included again....sure it wasn't installed from before hand?? It's not like it's removed with the application of the SP


Did the origianl pre SP1 build of XP include the JVM?

If so then I have a bad memory and am barking up the wrong tree...

If not, this machine wasn't connected to the net until after SP2RC2 was installed...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 12:25 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
SP1 had it, SP1A did not.

Or you had to manually download it with your first instance of trying to use it on a fresh install (ended up being a pretty hefty download).

My thought is that it was always there and somehow got set back to a default when 2 was applied even though you had Sun controlling things when you installed that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:46 am 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
Quote:
My thought is that it was always there and somehow got set back to a default when 2 was applied even though you had Sun controlling things when you installed that.


Nah, fresh install, never installed Sun's JVM...installed fresh for my Action Pack NFR XP Pro CD, instaleld SP1 from Security update CD...then SP2 RC2, THEN connected to the internet to hit Windows Update...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:11 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
I shouuld clarify...was always there from somewhere...before you installed SP2.

Who knows, this could've been installed from SP2. I just haven't heard of that though.

I guess the true acid test would be to install just SP2 after a fresh install.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:58 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
furball146 wrote:
I guess the true acid test would be to install just SP2 after a fresh install.


Thats what he did...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MS JVM Back in SP2?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:29 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:42 pm
Posts: 6
Location: San Diego, CA
[quote="defkhan1"]I installed XP and am trying SP2 RC1 on it...

I just installed RC2 on my lappy an' it wanted to load
816093: Security Update Microsoft Virtual Machine (Microsoft VM)...

So_ye@h?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MS JVM Back in SP2?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:13 am 
The Logik! Bot
The Logik! Bot

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 29
Location: NJ
defkhan1 wrote:
Do we think maybe now that MS and Sun made nice-nice, that we will get an MS JVM again?


The MSJVM will be back. And updates will be forthcoming by year's end.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MS JVM Back in SP2?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:11 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Logik! wrote:
defkhan1 wrote:
Do we think maybe now that MS and Sun made nice-nice, that we will get an MS JVM again?


The MSJVM will be back. And updates will be forthcoming by year's end.


Really? Where/when did you hear this?

For everyone else, if you're going to use the MS JVM, make sure you have the latest version - several viruses/trojans have been plauging the older versions for over a year now and many are still in the wild.

Double checking is easy... being a victim is a pita.

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Larry>jview
Microsoft (R) Command-line Loader for Java  Version 5.00.3810
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1996-2000. All rights reserved.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MS JVM Back in SP2?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:17 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Logik! wrote:
defkhan1 wrote:
Do we think maybe now that MS and Sun made nice-nice, that we will get an MS JVM again?


The MSJVM will be back. And updates will be forthcoming by year's end.


You must have a pretty deep mole in MS! I've been to eWeek and about 10 different Java websites in the past two days (lotsa news with JavaOne going on) and I haven't seen a single announcement about a MS JVM.

If anything, I would expect MS to announce that they can now run java bytecode in .net - kind of like what the mainwin product does for
IL in j2ee.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group