Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Puter will not post
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:32 am
Posts: 2
Location: Indiana
Hi all.. I just put my Mobo and CPU in a new Case. Everytime I turn it on nothing will come on the screen.. I have tried a different video card, different ram ... I know that the Mobo and CPU worked fine before. I have disconnected everything on the Mobo so that only the Video Card , Ram and CPU are connected.

Has anyone else ever have this happen? Any ideas that I may have missed?

Thanks for the help

Amdmhz


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:34 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 17
1) Might be a psu in the new case.
2) Might not have the little connectors for the power switch, power led, HDD led connected to the mobo properly.
3) New case might have a bad power switch.

Could be other things, but with what info you gave this is what I'm leaning towards.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:35 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Re-seat your CPU and make sure you have enough thermal paste and that the paste is applied properly.

edit: I can't spell.


Last edited by deject on Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:48 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 17
Good point. I didn't see him mention that his PSU powered up or fans started turning, so I started at the beginning.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:17 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
also could be a grounding issue. try removin the mobo again and reseat it on your new case. good luck


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:28 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:32 am
Posts: 2
Location: Indiana
Reseeded everything... Mobo lights come on..No beeps of any kind .. Just won't post


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:51 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Amdmhz wrote:
Reseeded everything... Mobo lights come on..No beeps of any kind .. Just won't post


Next step: take out every single part except the CPU, RAM, and your Videocard. If it POSTs then add in your other cards one at a time until it doesn't POST anymore, then you've found your culprit!

If it still doesn't post, then you've got one of two possibles:

1) your motherboard is bad
2) your CPU is bad


peace...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:25 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Posts: 10
Location: At my computer
I found this amazingly handly little tool for diagnosing exactly the kind of problem you are having. Its the Soyo TechAID Diagnostic Card. Its a PCI card with a little display on it that shows you POST codes. It even doubles as a PSU tester. It only costs $45.

Anyway, I had the exact same problem you have with one of my older computers. I determined that the BIOS chip went bad and needs to be replaced with a new chip, but the problem you have may be solved more easily. Like yours, mine didnt seem to be posting, but thats because the settings in the BIOS were all messed up. Every time I turned off the computer it lost the settings that should have been stored. The default settings would not work on this computer, so it just basicly refused to work like that. The battery was fine and everything was connected properly (not to mention they had been working fine for the past 2 years). The problem was simply a dieing chip that wouldnt hold its settings.

What mine did was randomly boot. It would take up to 30 tries sometimes, but eventualy it would POST and I would be able to get into the BIOS setup. So thats what I suggest doing, keep trying to boot, if you get in, go into the BIOS and check over EVERY setting.

I wish I could give you a more formal solution than trying to boot it for an hour, but I highly suggest getting the PCI card I talked about earlier.

oh and can you tell me what kind of graphics card you have? Is it PCI or AGP?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:12 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Even after reseating everything, I'm not ready to rule out a grouding issue. It could have been reseated incorrectly.

Try firing up the mobo from outside of your case to rule that out completely. If it works, when putting it into your case, check your standoffs and make sure there isn't one hitting the motherboard where no hole exists. Double check the screws as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:11 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1
Had the exact same problem in May with a new system I built in Jan. Disconnected everything(including front panel headers) except ram & CPU(P4). Fans were running. Turned out to be the new Intel 675PBZ mobo. Replaced by the supplier (Monarch)under warranty.

D. Weaver


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group