Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2500+ = 3200+ ?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 5:12 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
When I OC'd my AMD 2500+ to the 3200+ level something happened that I didn't expect. My BIOS reports that I have a 3200+. Not a 2500+ @ 2.2GHz but a 3200+. How would my bios know what a 3200+ is and that it runs at 2.2GHz?

This leads me to believe that there's no difference in the two processors at all except maybe the multiplier being set/locked at a certain speed and the chip reports the proper name given a certain speed.

Any thoughts?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 5:29 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Your BIOS knows what clock speeds each rating is at and will display the appropriate rating accordingly. When AMD first introduced their PR, it was a requirment that a BIOS display the CPU in these terms. I obviously don't have the means to personally verify whether that still holds true, but in your case, that's exactly what your mobo is doing.

As far as differences, for the most part, that's a correct statement. Chips of the same family generally only differ in terms of speed. There can be differences in steppings, which may or may not indicate a different die size (Palamino/Tbred is a good example), cache, core voltage, etc.

Specifically dealing w/ the 2500+ and 3200+ chips, they differ in speed only. Both are on a .13micron, both have the same cache, both have the same multiplier and voltage. However, they differ in fsb speed (333 and 400 respectively), which also makes them differ in GHz.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:52 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
Interesting...

Windows also reports my processor as a 3200+ (using dxdiag and "my computer")

So I wonder if there is any heat difference between a 2500+ oc'd to 3200+ levels and an actual 3200+ at stock speeds?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:56 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Invariably, a 3200+ will run hotter than a 2500+, considering the only difference is speed (no die change). Also, I would imagine that that retail heatsink/fan combo differs on each offering as well, so a retail 2500+ OC'd to 2.2GHz should run hotter than a retail 3200+.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:16 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
On the topic of reported names...

I boosted the FSB to 230 to see what name it would report and guess what it said...

Athlon XP 1100Mhz!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:15 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5201
On my Abit NF7-S I get a bios reading of "AMD Barton 2200mhz" or something like that. That's with the fsb at 200mhz and the multiplier at 11.

Now all I've got to do is get a working thermometer in Linux :lol:

When I'm in Windows running F@H I keep pretty stable at about 49-50C, but it's been really cool these past couple of days, well into the teens C.

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:45 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 74
Satchboy wrote:
On the topic of reported names...

I boosted the FSB to 230 to see what name it would report and guess what it said...

Athlon XP 1100Mhz!!!

Thats because your mother board either cant go to an FSB and multiplier that high, or your chip is unlocked (most likely) and it defaulted to a lower multiplier when you boosted your FSB. If you look closely (or maybe it doesnt say this...) The list of multipliers if it is unlocked will say something like "5/13, 5.5/13.5, 6/14....." with the 2500+, your multiplier will be something like... i think its 11.5x166. depending on your mobo, that will lower your multiplier to i think....i dunno. divide 1100 by 230. anywho. this is a largely irrelevent post, designed to show off my amazing OC prowess. i dont think it worked,


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 5:49 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
MunkiRench wrote:
this is a largely irrelevent post, designed to show off my amazing OC prowess. i dont think it worked,


I was using the STOCK heatsink and fan and only bumping up the FSB. How is that showing off? What skill is there in that? I only bumped it up to 230 MHz to see what the name would be because of the 2500+ being label a 3200+.

BTW I normally don't overclock at all.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 7:56 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
MunkiRench wrote:
anywho. this is a largely irrelevent post, designed to show off my amazing OC prowess. i dont think it worked,


I think and hope you were actually talking about your post to him. His post has 100% relevance to his original post, since they both are talking about naming schemes and how the BIOS handles this. To me it sounds like he doesn't fully understand how a BIOS reads the CPU and is experimenting. Then he is posting his trials in here for further explanation on how this works.


Satchboy,

He is right about whats going on though. Your mobo may even have a protection built in like my Asus had. If one attempt a posting fails it reboots at fail safe defaults so you dont have to clear CMOS just to readjust your OC settings. Just because you set it to do it, doesn't mean it is. I think you are underestimating how "intelligent" a BIOS is when it comes to reading and monitoring your system ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:05 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
Satchboy wrote:
I was using the STOCK heatsink and fan and only bumping up the FSB. How is that showing off?


I think he may have been actually talking about his own reply to you. I did think the same way as you at first though that it was a snide comment.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 1:18 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
IamDeMan wrote:
I think he may have been actually talking about his own reply to you. I did think the same way as you at first though that it was a snide comment.


Upon reading it a second and third time I believe you're right. Sorry MunkiRench.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 3:17 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 2:45 pm
Posts: 24
Stop the PR madness i need raw clocks :)

Still have my old school 1.73 tbred-b sitting at 2.3 all day long running F@H.

Wazer
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:11 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 74
IamDeMan wrote:
MunkiRench wrote:
anywho. this is a largely irrelevent post, designed to show off my amazing OC prowess. i dont think it worked,


I think and hope you were actually talking about your post to him. His post has 100% relevance to his original post, since they both are talking about naming schemes and how the BIOS handles this. To me it sounds like he doesn't fully understand how a BIOS reads the CPU and is experimenting. Then he is posting his trials in here for further explanation on how this works.


Satchboy,

He is right about whats going on though. Your mobo may even have a protection built in like my Asus had. If one attempt a posting fails it reboots at fail safe defaults so you dont have to clear CMOS just to readjust your OC settings. Just because you set it to do it, doesn't mean it is. I think you are underestimating how "intelligent" a BIOS is when it comes to reading and monitoring your system ;)

sorry.... yes i was referring to my post. sorry if i pissed people off...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 3:49 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
MunkiRench wrote:
sorry.... yes i was referring to my post. sorry if i pissed people off...


You didn't piss people off. We just read your post wrong at first. Its all good.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 4:55 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
Wazer wrote:
Stop the PR madness i need raw clocks :)

Still have my old school 1.73 tbred-b sitting at 2.3 all day long running F@H.


My stock 2500+ runs at 1830MHz.
that same cpu clocked at 2200MHz is named 3200+ by the BIOS.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LatiosXT and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group