Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FSB Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:00 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:13 am
Posts: 3
I'm in an argument with a friend here and I need to know: If you are running a lot of programs, is the FSB going to drop? He says the G5 with a FSB of 1.25 sounds nice, but once your running programs, it will effectively drop to around 600. I told him he's a freakin' moron and the FSB does not slow down. Who's right?

~~Edit: Another ? Would it make a diff between 1MB of cache and 2MB of cache?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:05 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
for the edit part, 2mb of cache is definitely better than 1mb of cache. one purpose of the cache on the cpu is for the cpu to store the most frequent used instructions in its cache. 2mb is twice more than 1mb. someone correct me if im wrong here.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSB Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:05 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Tha_L_Train wrote:
I'm in an argument with a friend here and I need to know: If you are running a lot of programs, is the FSB going to drop? He says the G5 with a FSB of 1.25 sounds nice, but once your running programs, it will effectively drop to around 600. I told him he's a freakin' moron and the FSB does not slow down. Who's right?

~~Edit: Another ? Would it make a diff between 1MB of cache and 2MB of cache?
well, your friends a moron for 1, the fsb stays relatively constant, only varying by tenths of a mhz. on the cache front, yes 1mb vs. 2mb can make a large difference in speed.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:19 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:13 am
Posts: 3
Thank you guys for your assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:26 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
no problem whatsoever, thats what we are here for. and remember, if you ever have any more questions be sure to come back.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:34 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:13 am
Posts: 3
athlon11 wrote:
no problem whatsoever, thats what we are here for. and remember, if you ever have any more questions be sure to come back.


That's why I came straight here, I used to post a lot on the Delphi boards a year or so ago, but got busy with other things. But when the time came, you guys answered :)


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.