Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Inspiron 9100-resolution screws up when I put the lid down
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:57 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
When I close the laptop so that I can move it or just because I am not going to use it for a while, the screen often changes resolution in the process and then when I open it back up the icons on the desktop are all scrunched to the upper left corner.

Any ideas whats goin on here? Or do I have to re-arrange my icons every time?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:30 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
iv never heard of that happening before...what if you put it in suspend, then close it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:16 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
It does fine then.

It's only a problem if I want to leave a program working that will take a while, so I put the lid down but leave the computer on.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Inspiron 9100-resolution screws up when I put the lid do
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:14 pm 
BANNED
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:47 pm
Posts: 67
SomeGuy wrote:
When I close the laptop so that I can move it or just because I am not going to use it for a while, the screen often changes resolution in the process and then when I open it back up the icons on the desktop are all scrunched to the upper left corner.

Any ideas whats goin on here? Or do I have to re-arrange my icons every time?


WOW


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:41 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
SomeGuy wrote:
It does fine then.

It's only a problem if I want to leave a program working that will take a while, so I put the lid down but leave the computer on.


Go into the power options in the control panel, click on the Advanced tab, go down to where it says "When I close the lid on my portable computer" and set it to "Do Nothing"


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:16 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Flytrap7 wrote:
SomeGuy wrote:
It does fine then.

It's only a problem if I want to leave a program working that will take a while, so I put the lid down but leave the computer on.


Go into the power options in the control panel, click on the Advanced tab, go down to where it says "When I close the lid on my portable computer" and set it to "Do Nothing"


Thats what I have it set to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:25 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
The BIOs settings would be the next place to look.

Just look for any options under Power Management.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:47 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Hmm, Ill check that out.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:55 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Nothing in there that appears to apply to the problem...

if it helps any, to clarify, the screen returns to its correct resolution, its just that the icons are bunched up as if the resolution was shrunk at some point.


Last edited by SomeGuy on Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:58 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Hmmm.....what else..?

Did you just purchase it recently?

Did you check the manufacturer's site for patches that might relate to the problem?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:20 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Um, we just got it about 2 months ago Id say.

I couldnt really find anything on it from their sight. I might just fire off an email to tech support.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:36 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
I would start thinking about either sending it off to tech support or returning it if it has some kind of 90 day return policy


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:47 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 48
Location: Laurel Maryland
Are you running Dell Quickset on this box? Is this a Windows machine or Linux?

If windows, I recommend that you download and install the latest Dell Quickset to see if that can solve your problems.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:03 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
DaFlake wrote:
Are you running Dell Quickset on this box? Is this a Windows machine or Linux?

If windows, I recommend that you download and install the latest Dell Quickset to see if that can solve your problems.


I believe that is one of the jazillion apps Dell had preinstalled.
I'll check it and see if there are any options that might relate to that in there.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:31 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:27 pm
Posts: 1
I have the 9100 as well and to let you know the drivers they send are usually way out of date. So I would go download the latest driver. I would recommend going to www.omegadrivers.com and dl their driver. Works great. By the way, if you go try to dl the driver from ATI it wont work.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:08 pm 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 3219
Location: Da Basestar
Is it going into standby when you close the lid? It could be an issue coming out of standby mode.

Try and get them to replace the Mobility Radeon 9700 with the 9800 while they're fixing it.


-[Ch]ams


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.