Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Virus of the crap...
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:00 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
Ok, this is the virus I'm pretty sure my little sister has:

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/av ... .worm.html

Basically it doesn't let you open any windows task things like regedit, taskmanager, gpedit.msc, msconfig, etc. etc.

I have attempted the fix they list (safe-mode startup, run virus scanner in safemode) but AVG 6.0 will NOT run in safe mode. Is this normal? Will I have to have her buy NAV or something?

The virus is incredibly annoying especially since she is a complete dipshit and downloads all sorts of garbage from the net, so it's hard to eliminate this stuff with no access to regedit, task manager, gpedit, etc.

Anyone have any suggestions for me? muchas gracias de la cabra


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:57 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Can you have her install the trial version of NAV and uninstall once the infection is cleaned?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:04 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
there are trial versions of NAV and McAffe somewhere on the net.

i would start with those...


AVG doesnt run in safe mode? im supprized. they should update that


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:25 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:42 am
Posts: 89
Location: Tampa, FL
No need to run NAV. Just search for an online virus scanner. (i didnt see you mention anyhting about not having net access. Online virus scanners are good because they can still be run when viruses disable yours. I think trend micro has a good online AV. I googled and found this.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Try giving this a shot if you can. Hope this helps.

JB


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:55 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
One4yu2c wrote:
Can you have her install the trial version of NAV and uninstall once the infection is cleaned?


I can try... I was hoping I could get it done before I left CA for Tech again.

I was thinking about gettin one o'dems. Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:56 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
BiggPa wrote:
there are trial versions of NAV and McAffe somewhere on the net.

i would start with those...


AVG doesnt run in safe mode? im supprized. they should update that


I think so too... it would run in windows normal boot, though, so it wasn't the virus

*shrug*


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:57 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
jbrock31 wrote:
No need to run NAV. Just search for an online virus scanner. (i didnt see you mention anyhting about not having net access. Online virus scanners are good because they can still be run when viruses disable yours. I think trend micro has a good online AV. I googled and found this.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Try giving this a shot if you can. Hope this helps.

JB


Thanks, I saw this one when I was googling for an answer, but I couldn't get it to run.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:42 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
[quote="ShiftyEyedGoat"][quote="jbrock31"]No need to run NAV. Just search for an online virus scanner. (i didnt see you mention anyhting about not having net access. Online virus scanners are good because they can still be run when viruses disable yours. I think trend micro has a good online AV. I googled and found this.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Try giving this a shot if you can. Hope this helps.

JB[/quote]

Thanks, I saw this one when I was googling for an answer, but I couldn't get it to run.[/quote]

This is because the way safe mode works is it only loads the required windows drivers to get the computer to boot. This is designed to prevent any startup programs that are causing problems on a system from running for troubleshooting purposes.

This is why no av program will run normally. If you can find one that will run from the command prompt and run in dos mode, it will run. I doubt you could get anything online to work because it does not run ActiveX or any other net technology in safe mode.

Does SARC's website give removal programs. You might try to see if there is a separate removal program available.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 6:30 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:57 am
Posts: 10
Location: MD
I really like the Panda Antivirus online scanner, it's found and fixed viruses for me that NAV and Mcafee could only quarantine at best.


Try this link

http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan ... ncipal.htm


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 3
copy regedit to the desktop
rename it reg.exe and run it
go to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\
RunOnce
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\
RunServices
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
look for the it there (it will be something to do with microsoft (microsoft does not use this to start anything for the os))

reboot in to safe mode
and delete that little trickster


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:24 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11012
Location: Home Sweet Home
Go to this site with your sisters PC and run this software....it works!

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Also get Spybot and Ad Aware and run them after you update them. You can get them here:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/

On the left, click on spyware tools and you will find the above software there.
It works fine and everything I linked to is free :)

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group