Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3GHz Conroe vs 3GHz Opteron 165
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:57 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=185555


Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Specs:
2.4ghz 266x9
2x 64KB L1 Cache (64KB Per Core)
4MB Shared L2 Cache
Revision: B0
Stepping: QLLR

AMD System: ----------
AMD Opteron 165 @ 3GHz
2x eVGA 7900 GT SLI @ 700/800 - Forceware 84.66
2x 1GB G.Skill DDR500 3-4-4-8
DFI NF4 Ultra-D A0 Modded to SLI-D
Western Digital 250GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU


Last edited by Donnie27 on Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:47 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1948
and..,?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 2:33 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9239
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
core duo is not conroe

conroe wil blow off the amds


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:35 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
g.m.waters (red ranger3) wrote:
core duo is not conroe

conroe wil blow off the amds


Core 2 Duo, however, is Conroe. That's also denoted by the E6600, which is a 2.4GHz Conroe chip.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:55 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
g.m.waters (red ranger3) wrote:
core duo is not conroe

conroe wil blow off the amds
That's a link to Core2 Duo, which IS...crap One4 :p


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:56 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 1187
Location: Markham, Canada 43°, 40", 79°, 24"
conroe kicks ASS


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:48 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
We'll see how much ass they kick when they're out in numbers. So far it looks like they'll deliver. If they're out of stock for until September, it's a fold IMO. Doesn't seem like the case though.

We gotta start calling them "Duo2" though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:44 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
Chumly wrote:
We'll see how much ass they kick when they're out in numbers. So far it looks like they'll deliver. If they're out of stock for until September, it's a fold IMO. Doesn't seem like the case though.

We gotta start calling them "Duo2" though.


I like "C2D" better. Or just C2.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
The Macmyster wrote:
and..,?


No words were needed. What was I supposed to say?

See Jane.
See Dick.
See Core 2 Duo
See Core 2 Duo Dick Opteron LOL!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:48 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
One4yu2c wrote:
g.m.waters (red ranger3) wrote:
core duo is not conroe

conroe wil blow off the amds


Core 2 Duo, however, is Conroe. That's also denoted by the E6600, which is a 2.4GHz Conroe chip.


Yup, doing an easy 3 GHz is more impressive. Never mind the 3.5GHz stuff.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:55 pm 
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:02 am
Posts: 6117
Location: I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it
now lets see them compare it to a proper competitor like Opteron 265 or higher.. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:25 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
screwballl wrote:
now lets see them compare it to a proper competitor like Opteron 265 or higher.. :D


Why? 265 gets the spit kicked out of it as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 7:32 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 5108
Location: RFC 1149 - Pidgeon Network
screwballl wrote:
now lets see them compare it to a proper competitor like Opteron 265 or higher.. :D


The 265 would give the same results as the 165 in single processor configurations. If you wish to use a 2 way processor system, then compare to a woodcrest when it's out, or dempsey.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:42 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
Chumly wrote:
We'll see how much ass they kick when they're out in numbers. So far it looks like they'll deliver. If they're out of stock for until September, it's a fold IMO. Doesn't seem like the case though.

We gotta start calling them "Duo2" though.


I might have to wait until after the Stuttgarter Folks Fest when I get back anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:56 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9239
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
boy did i miss that 2 :oops:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:04 am 
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:02 am
Posts: 6117
Location: I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it
and while we are at it lets support Intel for comparing brand new technology with 2 year old technology and say they really are that much better. :roll:
Lets find equal grounds before comparing apples to oranges.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:18 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:26 pm
Posts: 334
screwballl wrote:
and while we are at it lets support Intel for comparing brand new technology with 2 year old technology and say they really are that much better. :roll:
Lets find equal grounds before comparing apples to oranges.


:roll:

i bet you have no problem comparing a A64 to a P4. P4's are 2 years older than A64's and everyone compares them


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:36 am 
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:02 am
Posts: 6117
Location: I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it
no generally I compare P4 to AthlonXPs, the Intel numbering scheme to the Athlon64s/X2s and such similar levels... soemtime there is no choice as to compare them but the Opteron/Conroe comparison is not one of them...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:07 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
Wake me up when the E6700 is at Newegg.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:15 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 523
screwballl wrote:
no generally I compare P4 to AthlonXPs, the Intel numbering scheme to the Athlon64s/X2s and such similar levels... soemtime there is no choice as to compare them but the Opteron/Conroe comparison is not one of them...


The hell with with fair or how you think it should be done. When Conroe goes on sale, it will be compared to whatever AMD is selling at THAT time. Say stuff like OH no, I can't buy it because it is a diffrent Generation is kind of silly and invalidates every K8 vs. Netburst review out their. For the record, AthlonXP sucks ass.

http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=265

So if you don't like Intel, big deal, buy what pleases you and no one has the right to try and change your mind. Just don't make bogus excuses while you're being loyal.

This page! Already exposes AMD's screte weapon, 4 X 4, LOL! One problem though, it's a nVidia 590 Intel Edition Reference Board that Dell talked about for their Renegade 2. Who says Core 2 Duo can't run in Dual Processor Rigs? This could end up being for Woodcrest.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.