Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:12 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 6:03 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
willsroom

...How incredibly creative.

It's 100% unsecure, but I share the C: drive on all my rigs on it. Why? I'm so far from anywhere that you'd have to be parked in the turn circle outside my window to pick it up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:01 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:39 pm
Posts: 4
Location: YQT
Pardon my ignorance DreadedOne509 but how did you shield your SSID?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:08 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 709
i was gonna say hes not broadcasting but hesays that anyway, he could just mean the location of the box itself but only he knows for sure


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:32 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:18 am
Posts: 933
Location: Lurking in the shadows...
Pwned


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:27 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:14 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: Dragon flying go old so I came back to the cage
All of mine are set to "not public" so that would be hackers get the warning before I screw up there computer after I find them disobeying. Helps a lot, most just go elsewhere. BTW I live right next to a university and get "probed" a lot, the few that have tried to use my connection have paid the price, and I think they spread the word. That "not public" means just that.

BigM


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:06 am 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
It depends on which neighbors signal is better.


OH - you mean my own? MantaBase

Not very original - but hard to forget

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: my SSID
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:44 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 5:47 pm
Posts: 359
Location: I OC'd your MOM...
OU812...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:59 pm 
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:02 am
Posts: 6117
Location: I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it
I recently made a few changes to my network added some 8 port hubs for future expansion....
Now if I have it set to public, it shows IMAhakr

Saw some kid in a Civic in my cul-de-sac a week or so ago the day after I changed it, looked like he was on a laptop. checked my log and sure enough he was trying to get in... luckily 128bit WEP prevented any unauthorized entry. Saw him leave 5 minutes after I switched it to nonpublic/hidden SSID. I do know theres a Motorola 54g (thats the SSID) in the area as well that my mo-in-law picks up on occasion and their shared pictures are.... interesting :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 8:47 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:56 pm
Posts: 71
Location: !?!Where am I!?!
2wire233 you know th 2wire wirelees modem and wireless routers are a pain in the ass to configure just to tell u know?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 4:16 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Posts: 397
Location: Fullerton, CA
Mine is: UsTeAlUdIe


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 2:48 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:48 pm
Posts: 1500
Location: OhWell, NowWhat
BigGeek


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:23 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:20 pm
Posts: 10472
Location: Kansass
ninjacrumb wrote:
Pardon my ignorance DreadedOne509 but how did you shield your SSID?



I mis-spoke. It is shielded in that it is a directional and has a parabolic shield further shielding from side to side and 'assisting' keeping the signal focused. From the side, above and below unless you are within about 10 ft of it you can't pick it up at all on a Canary. It limits where I can move around and get a signal, but I am a creature of habit so sit in the same spot 99.9% of the time.

My neighbhors who use wireless are entirely too close and using 802.11g also, so this setup reduces interferance greatly.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 10:51 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
I installed a new router yesterday. My SSID is not-your-network.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 2:44 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 15
Location: Tampa, FL
mine are Halcyon and click here
:twisted:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 6:07 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 1:25 pm
Posts: 90
Virus Central & Worm Food


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 7:31 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:33 am
Posts: 258
Location: Living in Guild Wars
Area51

:O


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:50 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 7:51 pm
Posts: 137
Location: 'x' miles away from you
My SSID is : Can't hack this


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:05 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
goawayyouthievingb**ch
:D

No one's hacked it yet (I check the DHCP log on the router rather often.)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:50 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 5179
Mine's not broadcasted, but: TWBalls

Yeah, not very creative. I only use it for my HTPC anyways.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:44 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
cup wrote:
goawayyouthievingb**ch
:D

No one's hacked it yet (I check the DHCP log on the router rather often.)


excellent use of time :P


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group