Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: how stable is fedora core 2?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:57 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:11 am
Posts: 124
Location: 127.0.0.1
How stable is fedora core 2?

I have been a redhat user for a while. In fact, all linux machines at my school runs redhat, so it pays to have the same OS at home and makes easy to bring work to home.

but, RH9 ended its support.

how stable is fedora? I have read stories from both sides... some people say he did not even notice the difference between fedora and RH. yet some others say their computers froze in the midst of OS installation...

should I risk it and play with fedora, or should I play safe and stick with RH9?

any advice? thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:05 pm 
Forum's 3dfx Zealot
Forum's 3dfx Zealot

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Florida
I think it a personal choice while i hate linuxes like redhat and others I found fredora very stable in my review. I would say try it out on one machine and see what you think.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:22 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:11 am
Posts: 124
Location: 127.0.0.1
reminds me of the commercial about the liquid ice... liquid or ice? ice or liquid? yeah, I guess I have to try it myself to know the answer. Thank you for the input, jawa.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:22 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
I didn't seem to have to many issues when I was running it.

In all honesty though, I think I'm getting away from it as I'm growing tired fighting stuff to get my ATI working with the lack of drivers out there.

I think Mandrake is the only one out there with 2.6 that seems to have this solved to some extent though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 5:34 pm 
Forum's 3dfx Zealot
Forum's 3dfx Zealot

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Florida
mandrake is good for ati users. I use ati in a few of my machines and it is a ordeal some times getting them to work right with X even with slack 10


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.