Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Crucial Ballistix
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:37 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
This is good stuff.

I'm currently running PC4000 (DDR500) at 275 at stock settings and voltage. NO Windows flakiness reported or anything. This means my 2.4C is sitting at 3.3. I'm looking right now at getting it to 3.4 and higher.

Oh yeah. The old Seoul Special DDR400 that I had in there would only do 260 FSB and that was at 3/2, timings set all the way down with 2.9 vDDR. Crap.

Ballistix = :thumbsup: :thumbsup:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 5:34 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
That's awesome. I'm eager to get my hands on some and give it a whirl myself.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 8:17 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
Thanks for the info. Been thinking of these ballistix sticks. I have always used crucial for non-oc machines as the value has always been proven. I am just glad they are doing hand selected primo series sticks now. This may move me away from HyperX and Mushkin.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crucial Ballistix
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:28 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 133
Location: NJ
HK-47 wrote:
This is good stuff.

I'm currently running PC4000 (DDR500) at 275 at stock settings and voltage. NO Windows flakiness reported or anything. This means my 2.4C is sitting at 3.3. I'm looking right now at getting it to 3.4 and higher.

Oh yeah. The old Seoul Special DDR400 that I had in there would only do 260 FSB and that was at 3/2, timings set all the way down with 2.9 vDDR. Crap.

Ballistix = :thumbsup: :thumbsup:


What is your CPU to memory ratio? If your running that high 1:1, that is awesome! I was able to get my previous 2.4C all the way up to 280 but using the 5:4 ratio on the Abit Max 3 board with older Corsair XMS PC3500.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:24 pm 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
Running at 1:1 right now. I think this memory can do a bit more.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:31 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:25 pm
Posts: 133
Location: NJ
HK-47 wrote:
Running at 1:1 right now. I think this memory can do a bit more.


Nice!

But from what i've read, Curcial XMS memory at PC4000 or higher has done the same...I guess it comes dowb to how low your timings are and how much you pay for the memory.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: I picked up a gig based on these tests
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:07 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 1:01 pm
Posts: 62
Location: La Grande, OR
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2145&p=9

8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 8:04 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
WOW, those are some nice a$s results.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:39 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 8:56 pm
Posts: 943
Location: San Diego, CA
Very nice!

I just went to the Crucial/Ballistix website, and found out my mobo supports DDR PC4000.

I think I found the ram i'm gonna upgrade too!


Last edited by Hambone on Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:46 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
DDR4000? DDR400 8)

unless you're going to overclock, then the ram would be [almost] pointless to upgrade to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:57 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 8:56 pm
Posts: 943
Location: San Diego, CA
I editing my n00b mistake, and yes, i'm planing on overclocking my Athlon XP 2100+ on a Abit KD7A mobo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:25 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Hambone wrote:
I editing my n00b mistake, and yes, i'm planing on overclocking my Athlon XP 2100+ on a Abit KD7A mobo.


you dont need fancy high end ram for your 2100+. im sure that the proc runs on a 133 fsb, and even "value" pc-3200 (DDR400) ram is more than enough for that proc.

Check it out.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:42 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Boise
Mushkin is good as well.

However Ballistix ownz. Living 3 miles from them rulz as well. Knowing people on the inside is even better.. Not very many PC parts can give me that "special fealing"... this one does.
Buy your Ballisix Here

MUAHAHA, ALL your Ballisix are belong to ME!! HAHAHA

Image

ok im done..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 2:19 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 8:56 pm
Posts: 943
Location: San Diego, CA
ocnoob wrote:
Hambone wrote:
I editing my n00b mistake, and yes, i'm planing on overclocking my Athlon XP 2100+ on a Abit KD7A mobo.


you dont need fancy high end ram for your 2100+. im sure that the proc runs on a 133 fsb, and even "value" pc-3200 (DDR400) ram is more than enough for that proc.

Check it out.


Yes it does run on a 133 fsb.

I am more than happy to save some cash! But will that ram be more than adequate to oc my fsb? Say 160 or even (maybe) 200?

You guys definitely know what your talking about, so i'll trust ya.


Last edited by Hambone on Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:16 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Which RAM you should get depends on what your upgrading habits are like. I'll agree that anything above name brand PC3200 is a waste on that proc, and I wouldn't both with enthusiast PC3200 either. If you intend to upgrade in the near to moderate future, however, then you'd be wise to buy RAM that can make the transition.

If you do stick with Ballistix, I learned a little tidbit just a few minutes ago when I was answering a different thread. There is surprisingly little difference in their pricing between PC3200 and PC4000 - $138 compared to $144 on the 512mb modules. If going Ballistix, I can't justify NOT using PC4000.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:47 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
One4yu2c wrote:
There is surprisingly little difference in their pricing between PC3200 and PC4000 - $138 compared to $144 on the 512mb modules. If going Ballistix, I can't justify NOT using PC4000.


well, theres a [big] chance that you can overclock to PC-4000 speeds.

other than that, yes, what you said makes lots of sense.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:07 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
ocnoob wrote:
One4yu2c wrote:
There is surprisingly little difference in their pricing between PC3200 and PC4000 - $138 compared to $144 on the 512mb modules. If going Ballistix, I can't justify NOT using PC4000.


well, theres a [big] chance that you can overclock to PC-4000 speeds.

other than that, yes, what you said makes lots of sense.


?? Am I misunderstand, or are you saying there's a chance a 2100+ would OC to PC4000 (DDR500)? That'd be taking it from 1.73GHz to 3.25GHz! That'd be what, a 5000+? :wink:

What I'm saying is that unless he plans on upgrading his platform, then he'll never utilize PC4000. However, given the price difference between the two (PC3200 vs PC4000), he might as well get it anyway. If nothing else, he'll have a higher resale value down the line.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:47 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 8:56 pm
Posts: 943
Location: San Diego, CA
well, after reading another thread, I would like to upgrade to a 2500+ Barton. It seems the most economically viable upgrade solution when it comes to oc'ing. So it would seem to make the most sense in buying the Ballistix memory.

Also from what iv'e read I have a preety decent mobo for oc'ing, so the 2500+ Barton should do rather nicely.

what do you guys think?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:32 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Quote:
What I'm saying is that unless he plans on upgrading his platform, then he'll never utilize PC4000. However, given the price difference between the two (PC3200 vs PC4000), he might as well get it anyway. If nothing else, he'll have a higher resale value down the line.


That's what i meant when i said "other than that, yes, what you said makes lots of sense." sorry if i sounded a little sarcastic.

Quote:
well, after reading another thread, I would like to upgrade to a 2500+ Barton. It seems the most economically viable upgrade solution when it comes to oc'ing. So it would seem to make the most sense in buying the Ballistix memory.

Also from what iv'e read I have a preety decent mobo for oc'ing, so the 2500+ Barton should do rather nicely.

what do you guys think?


seems a little pointless to upgrade to barton when theres newcastle...

but... look at this.

KD7A compat tests

do a little more research to see if 2500+'s can get up to 3200+ on your mobo. if so, then great!

i still think ballistix is too much for it, pretty much overkill for any Athy XP.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group