Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Dec 29, 2014 6:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LAN
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:19 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
I dont know much about networking, (come to think of it i dont know much of anything) but how would i go about setting up a lan.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:31 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
ok now, well first you need more than one computer. you need at least two computers with NIC cards in them. then of course you need the cAT 5 cables and a router, switch, or hub whichever you like though i recommend a router if you want to share internet connection between the two computers.

no offense gamefreak but do some research because these kinds of questions are ahhhhhhhh. check out www.dalantech.com and read the articles there.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:48 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
i know how to do that but what i am talkin bout is a gaming lan with a server with games on it ect.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:01 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24238
Location: Granite Heaven
Your question is horribly vague.

The only difference between a LAN and a LAN with a game server on it is .. the game server.

So, if you know how to set up a LAN, do that .. then add a machine that will serve the game you want to play. This depends entirely upon the game.

What is your question, exactly?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:04 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
sorry, what i am asking is how the other computers access the game server. I think. I am horribly confused right now.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:42 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
Quote:
how the other computers access the game server



throught multiplayer options by picking the server you want to play on


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:39 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
I got it, i think, if on linux i set up a file shareing server???


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:07 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
You don't NEED Linux to fileshare...Windows will do it jsut fine. But like the otehrs said, your question is presented in an ambiguous manner.

you could simply connect two PC's with an Ethernet roll cable..a-la-LAN.

or connect them through a switch (like others already mentioned).

:?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:28 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Earth
gamerfreak wrote:
sorry, what i am asking is how the other computers access the game server. I think. I am horribly confused right now.


As long as all your computers have IP's that belong to the same broadcast domain, then your computers should be able to ping the game server. That, and gameservers send out multicast/broadcast packets to advertise the game server. So all you need are n PC's using an Ethernet Network (RJ-45, Swtich, and some CAT5 cables). You can configure this one of two ways:

1) Local Only: No internet access.
2) Local with Internet.

The first one means that you can go and buy a cheap switch and cables, hook it up, set the IP's on all the clients to the same broadcast domain, configure the machines so they belong to the same WORKGROUP, and then setup your game server, create a local game, and you're set.

2) This one is a bit complicated, but not so much so. Todays routers, such as the Linksys BEFSR41, also functions as a DHCP server. So all you need to do is to plug in the computers to the switch on the back (maximum 4 PC's since there's only 4 ports) via Cat5 cables. Set the workgroup name to the same thing on all of them (default workgroup name for Windows is WORKGROUP), and start your gameserver. This is similar to the #1, where it's local only. If you want outsiders to game with you, you have to open up the respected ports for your games.

Really, it's not that hard at all. I have my own LAN at home and my friends just come in plug in their laptops and we're game. Same with my friends house too. Oh, and your question was a bit vague, I command you to ask better questions!!!! :twisted:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:35 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
i will, thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.