Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DDR 400 memory question
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:19 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:07 pm
Posts: 664
Location: If you find out let me know
Will DDR 400 memory clock down to 333? The reason I ask is I've got an XP 3000 proc which has a 333 fsb and is going in an asus a7n8x-e deluxe mobo which supports ddr400 ram newegg has a stick of mushkin ddr400 ram I'm thinking about getting but don't want the 333 fsb of the proc to cause a performance hit with the ddr 400 memory will it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: memory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:37 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:09 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Flower Mound tx
i do believe that because your processor is only 333 the memory will be downgraded to the speed of the cpu unless you overclock the processor to the 400fsb but you will have a performance hit due to the lower fsb on the cpu


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:54 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
yes DDR400 memory will support DDR333. DDR400 memory supports FSB speeds below it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:11 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5202
Okay, I'm not sure where all you guys are pulling your answers from.

DDR = Double Data Rate. So, take my CPU for example. It has a 333mhz fsb. But, I believe that's only it's maximum. When I first booted it, it was set to 166mhz, with an 11x multiplier. So, 166mhz x 11 = 1826mhz. That is the equivalent of a 2.5ghz Intel chip. It's the AMD 2500+.

But, I have a problem. I bought DDR 400. What that means, is that it actually runs at 200mhz, but due to the way it's designed, acts like 400mhz. Of course my fsb is only 166mhz, thus my RAM defaulted to DDR 333.

Now I have upped the fsb on the CPU to 175mhz. So, since I retain my 11x multiplier, I now have a 1925mhz CPU, an increase of about 100mhz. Also, I instructed the memory to maintain a 6/6 ratio with the fsb, IE, 1 to 1. So, since the ram is DDR, I now have 350mhz Ram.

So, in short, the actual fsb is much different from what is called out on the specs. It depends on your motherboard settings. I get a good performance boost by increasing my fsb by only 9mhz. My CPU is now 5.4% faster, and my RAM is now 5.1% faster.

In the morning when the outside temp is cool, I only have a 2.5C increase in temp upping the fsb by 9mhz. As soon as I get some AS5, I plan on bringing it all the way up to a 200mhz fsb x11 for 2.2ghz or 3200+, thus saving $106 (Newegg) on buying the larger chip, and bringing my RAM to DDR 400.

You can run your ram at speeds other than 1/1. It's just that you get the best performance at 1/1. So, I could easily set my ram to 6/5. With a fsb at 166, 6/5ths of 166=200. 200x2=400mhz (DDR again).

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:28 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Belboz99 wrote:
Okay, I'm not sure where all you guys are pulling your answers from.

DDR = Double Data Rate. So, take my CPU for example. It has a 333mhz fsb. But, I believe that's only it's maximum. When I first booted it, it was set to 166mhz, with an 11x multiplier. So, 166mhz x 11 = 1826mhz. That is the equivalent of a 2.5ghz Intel chip. It's the AMD 2500+.

But, I have a problem. I bought DDR 400. What that means, is that it actually runs at 200mhz, but due to the way it's designed, acts like 400mhz. Of course my fsb is only 166mhz, thus my RAM defaulted to DDR 333.

Now I have upped the fsb on the CPU to 175mhz. So, since I retain my 11x multiplier, I now have a 1925mhz CPU, an increase of about 100mhz. Also, I instructed the memory to maintain a 6/6 ratio with the fsb, IE, 1 to 1. So, since the ram is DDR, I now have 350mhz Ram.

So, in short, the actual fsb is much different from what is called out on the specs. It depends on your motherboard settings. I get a good performance boost by increasing my fsb by only 9mhz. My CPU is now 5.4% faster, and my RAM is now 5.1% faster.

In the morning when the outside temp is cool, I only have a 2.5C increase in temp upping the fsb by 9mhz. As soon as I get some AS5, I plan on bringing it all the way up to a 200mhz fsb x11 for 2.2ghz or 3200+, thus saving $106 (Newegg) on buying the larger chip, and bringing my RAM to DDR 400.

You can run your ram at speeds other than 1/1. It's just that you get the best performance at 1/1. So, I could easily set my ram to 6/5. With a fsb at 166, 6/5ths of 166=200. 200x2=400mhz (DDR again).

Dan O.
bingo. the memory will clock to whatever speed it is set at. since the guy had a 333mhz bus his ram will run at 333mhz


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:25 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
yes, it will support 333


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:52 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:07 pm
Posts: 664
Location: If you find out let me know
so should I opt to get ddr333 to avoid a performance hit? or is it that much of a difference?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: DDR400
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:52 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:49 am
Posts: 10
Location: Michigan
exploringspace wrote:
so should I opt to get ddr333 to avoid a performance hit? or is it that much of a difference?



Your are not taking a performance hit. You are just not using the full capability of the DDR400.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:24 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
just like dp51 said, its not a performance hit because you are running at the processors rated speed. all you are doing is not utilizing the memory's potential, you are not taking a hit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:26 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5202
I think there are two reasons for getting RAM higher than your fsb's designated speed.

First and foremost, you will most likeley get a new CPU sometime in the future. If it has a higher fsb, and since you are UPgrading, it darn well should, your RAM will run faster, within limits. Basically, once you get a higher fsb, or oc' to a higher fsb, you unleash the full potential of your RAM. Since there is nothing wrong with holding back your memory in the meantime, it's better to get something that will work well in the future, and not just today.

Second, and not as logical, DDR 400 is just about the cheapest stuff on the market. The reason is simple, it's pretty much become a standard. Along with being a standard come higher supply, thus cheaper prices.

You will save money by buying DDR 400 for a CPU that has a 100mhz fsb. The CPU will run the memory at DDR 200 (Double data rate again) and it will be just like running PC2100 (DDR200), except MUCH cheaper.

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:16 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Belboz99 wrote:
I think there are two reasons for getting RAM higher than your fsb's designated speed.

First and foremost, you will most likeley get a new CPU sometime in the future. If it has a higher fsb, and since you are UPgrading, it darn well should, your RAM will run faster, within limits. Basically, once you get a higher fsb, or oc' to a higher fsb, you unleash the full potential of your RAM. Since there is nothing wrong with holding back your memory in the meantime, it's better to get something that will work well in the future, and not just today.

Second, and not as logical, DDR 400 is just about the cheapest stuff on the market. The reason is simple, it's pretty much become a standard. Along with being a standard come higher supply, thus cheaper prices.

You will save money by buying DDR 400 for a CPU that has a 100mhz fsb. The CPU will run the memory at DDR 200 (Double data rate again) and it will be just like running PC2100 (DDR200), except MUCH cheaper.

Dan O.
very good points, but after this year everything will pretty much be switching over to ddr2 so that pc400 will no longer be usable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDR 400 memory question
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:29 pm 
Solid as a rock
Solid as a rock
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:15 am
Posts: 396
exploringspace wrote:
Will DDR 400 memory clock down to 333? The reason I ask is I've got an XP 3000 proc which has a 333 fsb and is going in an asus a7n8x-e deluxe mobo which supports ddr400 ram newegg has a stick of mushkin ddr400 ram I'm thinking about getting but don't want the 333 fsb of the proc to cause a performance hit with the ddr 400 memory will it?



Your mobo may run the PC3200 at defualt speeds and the cpu at it's defualt speeds(meaning 333cpu/400 ram). I played around with running my memory at a 1:1 and 5:4. The numbers weren't so different.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDR 400 memory question
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:10 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5202
grydlok wrote:
Your mobo may run the PC3200 at defualt speeds and the cpu at it's defualt speeds(meaning 333cpu/400 ram). I played around with running my memory at a 1:1 and 5:4. The numbers weren't so different.


That's true, but you get the best performance at a 1 to 1 (6/6) ratio.

At least, so I've heard. I was thinking about setting my memory frequency to 6/5. 6/5 is an equivelant ratio of 200/166 or 400/333. But, upon hearing that I would take a perforamnce hit by using a ratio other than 6/6 or 1/1, I decided against it.

What I decided to do in the end is up my FSB. As soon as I get my AS5, I'll put the FSB at 200, thus double the data rate would = DDR 400. On top of that, my AMD Barton 2500+ will turn into an AMD Barton 3200+. The 3200+ was about $106 more expensive than the 2500+, so I figure it will be a great deal if I can keep it cool and stable.

That's pretty much what I would reccomend doing in his case. I would suggest upping the FSB up to 200, but keep the mulipier at 11x. That way, his AMD Barton 3000 will become a 3200, and his memory will increase to it's full potential.

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:36 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:07 pm
Posts: 664
Location: If you find out let me know
Thanks alot I might just do that, bummer is though I had to cancel my order from newegg I accidently clicked on the wrong link to order my memory I wanted the 512 meg stick of mushkin pc3200 but I clicked on the 256 meg stick of pc3200 good thing I printed the order sheet and looked at it bummer is I have to wait for them to credit the money back so I can reorder.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:01 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:06 am
Posts: 105
Location: The Commonwealth
:shock:

YOU ARE ALL F**** RETARDED.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:26 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5202
Um, can we say FLAMMING?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.