Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: First time builder needs help
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:58 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 10:59 am
Posts: 28
Ok... i have an amd athlon 64 3400+ and i dont know how to put the thermal paste on. do i spread it over the whole topside? and then put the heatsink and fan that come with it on top of it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 10:59 am
Posts: 28
o yeah... and i have 1 gig (512x2) of crucial ram. Can my athlon 64 use dual channal? Dual channel just means having 2 sticks in right? Do i have to just use 1 of them?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:46 pm 
Team Member [Top 500]*
Team Member [Top 500]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 8721
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Just gently place a small (keyword is small) amount of paste on top of the processor. Just enough so when the heatsink and fan assembly are locked down in place it will distribute evenly. You dont want the thermal paste seeping or to ooze out and bleed on the edges of the processor or your mother board. It should form a thin layer between the processor and heat sink. If you happen to blow it and use excess, remove the heat sink and clean things with isopropanol alcohol and try again. Rest assured a single tube will do many processors as tiny as it is.

How much RAM and the RAM configuration is a function of your mother board, not the processor. Look at your motherboard specs to see the RAM configuration. Yes, dual Channel means a pair and to perform at its best the RAM should be a Matched Pair. Generally your motherboard manufacturers book will spell it out and suggest the RAM that is best suited for the chipset on the motherboard.

Hope that helps

Ron


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:08 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
1. open the slot for the CPU on the mobo
2. insert CPU
3. close slot (probably opens with a lever, well, close lever
4. spread a THIN layer over entire top of CPU (if i remember right, it has a heatspreader)
5. put on heatsink


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:13 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:34 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
There are some excelent instructions here: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silv ... ctions.htm

If your thermal paste isn't Arctic Silver (even though it really should be for best results) don't worry about it, the instrctions still apply.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:13 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:47 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Wales, U.K.
Hi,

Am pretty sure that others who have responded to your question have already answered fully but the following URL might be of interest:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... 5-high.wmv

Best Regards.



Tailormadepc.co.uk


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:19 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Texas
if the processor is socket 939 then it should support dual channnel,, but since amd doesnt currently offer 939 in 3400+ designation then nol


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 10:59 am
Posts: 28
the mobo is an albatron k8x800 pro II. Do I just put a little on and then let the weight of the heatsink spread it or use the spread card that came with it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:31 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
r33beers wrote:
the mobo is an albatron k8x800 pro II. Do I just put a little on and then let the weight of the heatsink spread it or use the spread card that came with it?


Spread it yourself. Read over that link in a previous post pointing you to Arctic Silver's application instructions. You'll want a thin layer, and keep in mind that it may take a few days for your temps to fully adjust.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.