Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Wont Standby
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:56 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Canada
My problem is that since i installed my new radeon 9600 AIW my computer will not go into standby. When you choose standby one of 2 things will happen 1.) everything except the fans will power down for about 10 seconds and then the computer will power back up or 2.) the computer will go completly into standby for about 30 seconds befor it wakes up again. I formated when i installed this card and i am using all up to date drivers. Is there any way to track what it bringing the computer out of standby??
System Specs:
Soltek SL-75FRN2-L
Barton 3000+
Saphire 9600 pro AIW
1 x 512mb ddr400
40gb maxtor hdd
120b seagate hdd
56x cd-rom
onboard sound

Winxp pro sp1
Catalyst 4.4
nforce 4.24
NIS 2004

any help is greatly appreciated


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 8:49 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1254
Can we assume you've run spybot to be sure there's no offending crapware in your rig?

Can we assume you've checked off standby options in the 'display propperties' part of the control panel?

How's the power settings in CMOS? Maybe reset the CMOS and try again.

Maybe try going into device manager and removing the display adapter AND monitor and let windows reinstall them?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: what happens if you try to enter standby in safe mode?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:02 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
Does stand by work if you enter safe mode? It sounds like some program or driver is waking the thing up from standby ???


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:25 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:36 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Chicago
Make sure you've got power management drivers installed if your PC has them. I've run into that with laptops on more than one occasion.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:31 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:19 am
Posts: 1420
Location: Malware Removal GOD
Since the problem started happening when you installed the AIW card, i bet its the card or driver. Try updating the driver or chaning the card. If it fixes it, it is the card and RMA it or get a new one.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what happens if you try to enter standby in safe mode?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 11:35 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
maddingo wrote:
Does stand by work if you enter safe mode? It sounds like some program or driver is waking the thing up from standby ???


i would guess that too

does WOL (wake on LAN) disrupt the stand-by? idk, i never turn that on..


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.