Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Voltages?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:57 am
Posts: 6
I've overclocked my P4 3.0 northwood to 3.4 without any problems running on a Corsair 200ex WC kit. I've heard that beyond 400mhz, I need to adjust my voltages. How would I do that? and what does it do?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:18 am 
Forum's Goatkeeper
Forum's Goatkeeper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:23 am
Posts: 304
Location: Hell
You go into the BIOS, and adjust the CPU vcore voltage.


And to be quite blunt, if you don't understand what that will do, you probably shouldn't be messing with it in the first place.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voltages?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 1:03 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Slippy wrote:
I've overclocked my P4 3.0 northwood to 3.4 without any problems running on a Corsair 200ex WC kit. I've heard that beyond 400mhz, I need to adjust my voltages. How would I do that? and what does it do?


I've found the quality of the RAM, as well as voltages for the RAM, to be infinitely more important than the vcore on a P4C setup. This is not to say that's it's worthless, but there's really no reason to play with voltages unless you're experiencing stability problems.

I'll second Raven's bluntness in that you need to be educated on what you're getting into (not just on voltages) before poking around in the BIOS. Here's a couple links to get you started:

Detailed BIOS Guide
Overclockers.com


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:18 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
im with Raven...dont mess with it...you also should probably put it back to stock speeds...

also like Raven said, it doesnt seem like you know what you are doing


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:47 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:34 am
Posts: 108
As previously stated, do not increase VCore unless you experience stability problems.
I suggest you do a little more research for your particular rig via http://www.google.com.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LatiosXT and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group