Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do you use a program to tell you the temp of your CPU?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:24 am
Posts: 31
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to all of this, how do you all seem to know what temperature your processor / chipset whatever it is is running at? Do you use a program for this? or did you set up something on the CPU / motherboard? If you use a program, which one? I would be curious to find out what my processor runs at.

Thanks in advance.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use a program to tell you the temp of your CPU?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:21 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:42 am
Posts: 89
Location: Tampa, FL
killaapp wrote:
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to all of this, how do you all seem to know what temperature your processor / chipset whatever it is is running at? Do you use a program for this? or did you set up something on the CPU / motherboard? If you use a program, which one? I would be curious to find out what my processor runs at.

Thanks in advance.


I use the software that comes with my motherboard. I would suggest checking out your mobos website and checking to see if they have a monitoring program. What type of mobo do you have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:43 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
I smell a poll.

MBM
Bay mounted monitor(digidoc,etc)
MFG software
finger
other

I use both MBM and the Enermax 2X2 Ultimate Controller.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:44 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i use the software that came with my motherboard.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:47 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:11 am
Posts: 146
Location: Pembroke, Ont. Canada
I use MBM

I've read in many places that the temp monitor that comes with your mobo isn't always very accurate. I've heard that most about ASUS boards.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 6:38 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:24 am
Posts: 31
hm so what is MBM? =) *EDIT - nm I found it, Mobo monitor heh

And I really don't know which mobo I have, this is last prebuilt computer I'll own, I hate not knowing what video card / ram / mobo etc. I have.

*EDIT - ok found out my mobo is Intel D850 EM V2


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 7:01 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
Used to use a combination of thermistors and MBM. I still can't trust winbond too much:p I recently made a hardware change in the last system to an Abit AA8 and they have a dorky little "guru clock" in the 3rd eye series if that floats your boat.

http://www.abit-usa.com/images/guru-clock-500.jpg


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:53 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:44 am
Posts: 110
Location: In the Boonies
I ran both MBM5, sadly, no longer being updated, and Asus probe (came with the MB) together. The readings agreed with each other (when they play nice).

When these two don't place nice (occassionally) you tend to get wild & unsubstantiated readings as I learned 1am one morning. An alarm goes off cause one tells me that the proc is running at 83C!!! Luckily I have an external probe and it was reading normal and the heat sink felt fine. For a moment there I thought I had a reason to upgrade :lol: .


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 10:38 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
yes, MBM5


sadly, it is no more (no more updates at least)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:09 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:58 pm
Posts: 591
Location: ND
I use the program that came with my Asus mobo


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:18 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
EvilJeff wrote:
I use the program that came with my Asus mobo


Ditto. ASUS Probe. Even lets you record a history so you can see if a certain program stresses your CPU too much.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:07 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
MBM5 and a homemade modded temp probe(car dash probe)


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.