Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 12:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: windows xp .....INSERT FLOPPY HELLLLLPPPPPP
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 6:59 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 14
wen i just built my computer with no floppy drive...i was installing widows xp....on my socket 939 motherboard...and the motherboard only came with a cd...no floppy....nor was it supposed to....then during installation the screen says insert floppy......????????? what do i do....the cd contains all of the drivers and necessary files....why exactly wont it workkk!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 7:44 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
What *exactly* is it asking for?

Just because the CD had what's necessary, doesn't mean that it'll all be in a place that windows setup will find them.

and just because it's asking for a floppy, doesn't necessarily means it's looking for exactly a floppy, but rather a location to find drivers...which may ship on a floppy, but are burned onto a CD for convience.

btw: are you sure you didn't get an upgrade version of XP??


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:12 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 14
lol its my friends copy....but i think i know how to do this...i needa put a floppy on my computer and copy a promise driver for sata


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp .....INSERT FLOPPY HELLLLLPPPPPP
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:37 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
healy0203 wrote:
wen i just built my computer with no floppy drive...i was installing widows xp....on my socket 939 motherboard...and the motherboard only came with a cd...no floppy....nor was it supposed to....then during installation the screen says insert floppy......????????? what do i do....the cd contains all of the drivers and necessary files....why exactly wont it workkk!



hey yeah it's the damn promise drivers that are fuxoring you, (god it pisses me off it wont let you load raid/ide/sata controller drivers from your CD drive during setup.)

get a floppy drive copy the drivers to them and you should be good to go.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:59 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
raid drivers?


that would be my guess...buy a floppy, use it, then return it...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:03 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:30 am
Posts: 89
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
BiggPa wrote:
raid drivers? that would be my guess...buy a floppy, use it, then return it...

For the cost of a floppy drive, $12, returning it costs more than the drive. Until Microsoft doesn't require a floppy for RAID drivers along with a lot of BIOS flashes build your system with one.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:07 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 14
thanks guys i will be trying it today i will let u know how it works out


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.