Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: P4 2.4ghz 800mhz fsb.... couldn't boot at 2700 mhz???
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:51 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 9:27 pm
Posts: 906
Location: Right Behind You...
ok ok ok, I know I should just upgrade my old cpu, but I figured I'd give overclocking a try as a final "step" before upgrading. I have never overclocked anything before so bare with me...

I just tried to overclock it a little, by changing the fsb speed to 225 from 200 producing a cpu speed of 2700mhz. I then proceeded to restart my computer and it hung for a second at POST then went on to give me a scare by saying "non-system disk or disk read error" when trying to look at my DMI pool data. :shock:

I restarted and changed my settings back to default and here I am, factory clocked and shaking with the fear, and need, to overclock.

My questions are basically, what didn't I do? I thought it was easier than it is... I simply changed the fsb speed:
    Should I up the voltage? If so how much?
    Do I have to change anything like agp/pci multipliers or Ram timings?
    Can I succesfully OC my CPU to ~2700mhz with my current set-up?

Edited SiSoftware Sandra System info:

Mainboard:
Manufacturer : http://www.abit.com.tw
MPS Version : 1.40
Model : IS7(Intel i865-ICH5)
Version : 1.0
System BIOS : 04/27/2004-i865PE-W83627-6A79AA1BC-20

Processor:
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz w/factory fan.
Speed : 2.41GHz
Performance Rating : PR3199 (estimated)
SMT Support : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Standard
Package : FC µPGA478
Rated Speed/FSB : 2400MHz / 4x 200MHz
Multiplier : 12/1x
Minimum/Maximum Multiplier : 0/1x / 12/1x
Generation : G8
Name : P4N (Northwood) Pentium 4C 130nm 1.6-3.4GHz 1.475-1.575V
Revision/Stepping : 2 / 9 (9)
Stepping Mask : D1
Microcode : MU0F2917
Core Voltage Rating : 1.550V
Maximum Physical / Virtual Addressing : 36-bit / 32-bit
Native Page Size : 4kB
Sensors:
CPU Temperature : 46.5°C / 115.7°F td
Auto Fan Speed Control : No
CPU Fan Speed : 7031rpm
CPU Voltage : 1.46V
Power Rating(s):
CPU Core Power : 58W (estimated)
CPU Cooling System Thermal Resistance : 0.20°C/W (estimated)

Ram:
2x 512mb Kingston PC3200 400mhz "value ram" in dual-channel mode
Error Correction Capability : None
Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM Synchronous SDRAM 512MB/64
Bank4/5 - A2 : DIMM Synchronous SDRAM 512MB/64
Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 3.0-3-3-8CL 1CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 3.0-3-3-8CL 1CMD
Channels : 2
Speed : 2x 201MHz (402MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/1x
Width : 64-bit
Refresh Rate : 7.80µs
Performance Acceleration Technology : No
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No


Also in my system I have:
2 120GB SATA Seagate Barracudas at RAID-0 w/64kb stripes
BGF Geforce 6800 Ultra OC
Antec True Power 480w PSU
SB Audigy Platinum
Enough air flow to feel it blowing 4 feet away! (I currently have a total of 16 fans)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:04 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
value ram is holdin u back


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P4 2.4ghz 800mhz fsb.... couldn't boot at 2700 mhz???
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:20 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
[unclan] Rhino wrote:
I just tried to overclock it a little, by changing the fsb speed to 225 from 200 producing a cpu speed of 2700mhz. I then proceeded to restart my computer and it hung for a second at POST then went on to give me a scare by saying "non-system disk or disk read error" when trying to look at my DMI pool data. :shock:


That's too much too fast. The processor's the heart of the system so you should be careful with what you do with it. Try 5MHz speed bumps instead, and work your way up.

And yes, your RAM is holding you back. No need to fuss around with voltages just yet.
[/quote]


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 10:34 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 8:00 am
Posts: 928
I have Value Ram from Kingston... It has very high latencies... but I took care of the old 4-4-4-15 to 4-4-4-5 for now... I have yet to adjust the actual speed of the RAM cuz I cant find the option to set the FSB:RAM ration in my BIOS


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 10:45 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:58 pm
Posts: 591
Location: ND
I use CPU-Z to check my settings after each successful boot, it runs much faster and gives you a condensed version of all the important information. If your memory is set at 1:1, there is no way value ram will get you any kind of an overclock. I don't know much about that board, there should either be a setting for memory dividers, or if there's not, use the memory speed selector to turn your RAM speed down to 333.
My board doesn't have a divider choice, in order to go 3:2 or 5:4 I need to turn my RAM speed down to 333, then adjust my FSB. When I boot into XP, I then use CPU-Z to tell me what speeds the RAM and FSB are running, as well as the divider. Takes a bit if experimenting but you can get a good OC with cheap RAM if you take the time to experiment, and take small steps.
I had my 2.8 running at close to 3.5 with cheap RAM at 5:4, too lazy to do the math but my memory was running at like 197. Couldn't get it to boot any faster than that.
Of course, some Geil PC4200 took care of that problem :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:03 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 5179
Could be a couple of things.
In my case, I have an Abit IS7-G, 2.4C and 1GB of OCZ PC3700. The HIGHEST I can go completely stable is 2.5Ghz
I've tried just about everything I can think of. I think it's my motherboard.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:29 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
TWBalls wrote:
Could be a couple of things.
In my case, I have an Abit IS7-G, 2.4C and 1GB of OCZ PC3700. The HIGHEST I can go completely stable is 2.5Ghz
I've tried just about everything I can think of. I think it's my motherboard.


Temporary Thread Hijack
That's disappointing for your CPU/RAM combo, and I'd pinpoint the mobo as well. However, on the off chance it's the RAM, have you tried putting it through Memtest? If it did turn up errors, they're great about exchanges.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:35 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 5179
One4yu2c wrote:
Temporary Thread Hijack
That's disappointing for your CPU/RAM combo, and I'd pinpoint the mobo as well. However, on the off chance it's the RAM, have you tried putting it through Memtest? If it did turn up errors, they're great about exchanges.
Yeah, I tried Memtest86 and the MS Memory diagnostics. So I'm pretty sure it's the motherboard. :cry:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:02 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:24 am
Posts: 609
Location: Home
I am using a 2.4C which I OCed to 2.7 using PC2700 RAM (333MHz) and the only way I made this stable and work properly was putting the ratio to 5:4. Setting it to 1:1 means you would be overclocking your RAM even at 2.4GHz just to match the 800FSB of the CPU. Also, to increase OCing headroom, set the CAS latencies higher. I got new PC4000 RAM recently (500MHz) and I have stably overclocked my 2.4 to 3.3 thus far. (1100MHz FSB)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:47 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Hey Rhino, it's your ram bro. I too am running a P4 2.4 o/c'ed to 3.2 (1061 fbs) with a Asus P4P800 Deluxe. Ocz PC3500 EL @ 2.0-3-3-7 @ 5:4. I ran it on the stock fan/heatsink with a temp of about 32° and switch to Danger Den water block and a temp around 26-27°.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.