Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question on Cathode inverter
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 4:32 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:23 pm
Posts: 469
Location: Swanton, VT
Is there an inverter with multiple plugs for cold cathode lights out there. I'm talking more than two plugs in it. I want to consolidate my lights in one specific place. TIA.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 5:06 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
i would not use a cathode, there have been many horror stories on the internet of people using them and having the inverter literally explode ruining their systems.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:34 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:23 pm
Posts: 469
Location: Swanton, VT
What would you use them ? Are you saying no lights at all ? Just curious.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 9:38 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Not where I am supposed to be:)
two cathodes is not enough?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:33 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:23 pm
Posts: 469
Location: Swanton, VT
I have a cathode lights on one fan close to the bottom, another one running across the bottom of the case but the case is not lighted toward the top. I have an NVIDIA 6800 GT card which covers the light due to it's size and i was hoping to add another one closer to the top. Thinking about it now, it could be too much of a good thing. I was curious as to a device that you could plug all your lights in.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:54 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Audiogabby wrote:
What would you use them ? Are you saying no lights at all ? Just curious.
i would use led's. you can buy led "spotlights" and led tube lights that work just like cathodes but dont use an inverter.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:06 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
From what I hear, UV LEDs just aren't the same.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:13 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:23 pm
Posts: 469
Location: Swanton, VT
I have seen EL lights but can't recall LED tube lights. Can you point me to a site so i can read more about it ? Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group