Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Optiplex 745 VGA Issue?!?!
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:01 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:46 am
Posts: 1
Looked everywhere, asked everyone I know. And I've come up with no solution to my problem.

Problem: I receive an error msg in BIOS when booting up this Desktop (retired College PC) regarding the VGA cord being plugged into the wrong port.

The thing is, I can't find a VGA cord to fit this port: Dell website, Best Buy...nothing. Ive heard its some dell proprietary cord I have to order?? True?

PIC* (port above is how it sits now. I'm supposed to use the bottom one (data pins 'OUT')

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks for any and all help,

-G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optiplex 745 VGA Issue?!?!
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 3:39 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
I'm pretty sure that bottom one is a serial port and Dell's reference guides confirm this as well.

What is the exact text of the error message you receive? You also mention this is a retired college computer, has it ever worked properly?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optiplex 745 VGA Issue?!?!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:08 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 719
Location: Rest in Peace... Stratplan & Whitecree & Thomasvjones
As hackman said, your monitor Is plugged into the right port.

I'm wondering if the message you are seeing is not, in fact a BIOS message, but some sort of error message coming from the monitor itself.

Can you borrow a different monitor and see if the message changes?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Optiplex 745 VGA Issue?!?!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:58 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 851
Location: Phoenix, AZ
You have an ATI video card in your system with a DVI-I (dual link) port (and an TV port (S-video)?). I suspect your system is confused. I know I am.
Ain't OP's helpful?

At any rate, get a male DVI-I (dual link) to male DVI-? monitor port cable for your system or buy an adapter for that VGA cable. An adapter is perfectly acceptable as long as your monitor does not natively exceed around 1280×1024 px or 1440 x 900 px.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group