Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:37 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Posts: 1
I am trying to find out if there is a difference between an AMD Athlon 64 X2 and a AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core. cpubenchmark.net has them as two different processors(AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ and AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+). It does not give a specific part number so I cant search for the information. Are these different generations of the Athlon. What is the difference(socket type ect..)in the 2.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:22 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 18
As best as I can remember, both chips are, like you said, are Athlon 64 dual-core design, fit into the AM2+ socket, and are clocked at 2.2 Ghz.
The only difference is the L2 cache - the 4200 has a 512mb L2 and the 4400 has a 1mb L2.

I owned a 4200 several years ago and it was a pretty good chip for its time. But that was 4-5 years ago and the more recent Phenom and FX chips has far surpassed it in performance, as well as drawing less power.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 12:47 am
Posts: 11
The biggest difference is Dual Core~


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:47 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5208
The Athlon 64 X2 4200+ is probably the Socket 939 version while the Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ is probably the Socket AM2 version.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:42 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 18
Both are dual core - the "X2" in the name indicates dual cores. As mentioned earlier, both are Socket AM2 chips. The later Athlon 64 chips and the Phenom line indicated the number of cores by the designation "X--" after the name -e.g. Phenom X4 is a quad core, X2 is a dual core, etc. I actually had a Phenom X3, which was a tri-core. In reality, it was a quad core with one of the cores turned off. This is a common practice with chip makers - if a portion of a chip is defective, it can be turned off and sold as a lower priced model. The Athlon II models were actually Phenom chips with the L3 cache disabled. Intel does the same thing with the current Pentium and Celeron models - both are current Sandy Bridge and/or Ivy Bridge chips with various portions turned off.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:40 am 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:23 am
Posts: 2628
Location: Folding as BlackSun59
csjag wrote:
Both are dual core - the "X2" in the name indicates dual cores. As mentioned earlier, both are Socket AM2 chips. The later Athlon 64 chips and the Phenom line indicated the number of cores by the designation "X--" after the name -e.g. Phenom X4 is a quad core, X2 is a dual core, etc. I actually had a Phenom X3, which was a tri-core. In reality, it was a quad core with one of the cores turned off. This is a common practice with chip makers - if a portion of a chip is defective, it can be turned off and sold as a lower priced model. The Athlon II models were actually Phenom chips with the L3 cache disabled. Intel does the same thing with the current Pentium and Celeron models - both are current Sandy Bridge and/or Ivy Bridge chips with various portions turned off.

I'm presently running a Athlon II X4 640 (Propus core). Too bad there isn't a way to enable that disabled L3 cache like you can a disabled fourth CPU core in an X3!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AMD CPU differences
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:10 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5208
If it's Athlon 64, it's a K8 processor. If it's an Athlon II, it's a K10 processor. Not to mention, that K10 processors dropped the PR number, and both models OP posted have a PR number.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group