Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No SLI
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 6:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
I upgraded a 6 year old computer to Win 7 with a new CPU and Mobo and PSU, now I have no SLI in games! Runs stable so far in daily use. It scored Windows Experience Index of 5.9 with one video card installed and a whopping 6.0 in SLI in the Graphics and Gaming Graphics sub scores. I know the cards are (very) old in terms of GPUs, but I was hoping to squeak out a few more years.

Details:
Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
CPU: Intel i7-3820
Cooler: NZXT Kraken X40 (85 degrees F)
PSU: Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 850W
GPU: Asus GeForce 7800 GTX (x2)
Drivers: 9.18.13.783 Dated: 1/31/2013
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Mem: 8G Corsair Vengeance (2 x 4G)
Drives: 1 optical Plextor DVD
1 Samsung 256G SSD
1 150G Velicraptor
2 WD 250G

I have the newest drivers from Nvidia installed and SLI enabled from the Nvidia control panel. I have installed some older title games and had failures in each case. It BSoDs in Bioshock or dumps the video to the desktop in Medal of Honor. I can click the program in the task bar and the video comes, flickers and dumps back to the desktop, however the program does not terminate. Since it happens at the launch of the game and the temps seem cool I have not considered heat to be the factor and with a new 850W PSU I am not leaning towards that as an issue.

Bioshock would BSoD: STOP: 0x0000016 ... (more interesting is) nvlddmkm.sys also shows up as a culprit, an Nvidia driver file?

I have tried replacing the nvlddmkm.sys from the .sy_ file and no luck. The device manager see both cards, they both are plugged into the PSU and the SLI bridge is installed.

Thoughts?

Thanks.


Last edited by Walby on Tue May 28, 2013 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 8:11 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5241
If this is the 7800 GTX, then first updated the drivers. The last one I see on support was released in February. And consider upgrading.

If this is the GTX 780, then you need to update the drivers.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 9:35 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
Ok, I downloaded 307.83 (dated Feb 26, 2013 on the website) directly from Nvidia's site, and upon install it shows the same date on the driver n device manager.

o.O

The Nvidia control panel shows that 307.83 is being used.

Any other ideas?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:17 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5241
Uninstall everything NVIDIA related then do a clean reinstall (there's a checkbox to click on)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 3:45 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
A check box, where?

I uninstalled the drivers from the device manager, manually deleted the Nvidia folder in C: and every file that began with "nv..." in the windows/system32 folder while in Safe Mode.

After each reboot Windows would reinstall drivers, I assume Windows native drivers. I went to Device Manager again and removed them and then installed the drivers (307.83).

Is there something more I can do to remove any pestilent divers? Is there something wrong with my process?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 6:54 am 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
You might want to try DriverSweeper. You can get it here: http://www.guru3d.com/content_page/guru ... eeper.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:18 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5241
When you install NVIDIA's drivers and get to the page to select the components, there's an option for a clean install. Although, this is assuming you've selected the advanced/custom setup and not the quick one.

And it's better if you do the reinstall in safe mode.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 3:37 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11090
Location: Home Sweet Home
Download latest driver.

Download Ccleaner

Shut off internet access. Best is remove rj45 plug from computer or unplug plug-in usb wi-fi.

Shut off your anti-virus and malware programs.

Install Ccleaner. In the Tools section there is an uninstaller, use it to uninstall the Nvidia driver.

Next run the Registry section of Ccleaner, tell it to scan, then clean ALL, save the registry when it presents the option. Say no to reboot.

Delete the Nvidia folder and empty the recycle bin.

Reboot.

Cancel both popups.

Shut off the anti-virus and malware programs!

Install new driver.

I have 2 7800's running the latest Nvidia driver installed using my method and all is well! Don't forget this is only a DX9 card.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 7:07 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
Some additional info...

Assuming it is not a driver issue for a moment.

There is no video output from the lower card, the one plugged into the PCIe 3.0 x16_2. It doesn't matter which card is plugged into that slot, there is no video output from either DVI output on that card. The power to each card had been checked using the power to the known good card in the _1 position.

The computer runs the Windows Experience Index test and returns results while in SLI and in single card. Although the score is the same. (different result than first run where 5.9 was the first score and 6.0 was SLI)

There is no known jumper or BIOS setting to enable SLI on the mobo, it should all be controlled from the Nvidia control panel.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 7:56 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11090
Location: Home Sweet Home
You do have the SLI bridge connector "connecting" the two cards I hope as per the motherboard manuals instructions?

Does Device manager see both cards? Does one have a red X on it?

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 8:26 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
Yes the bridge is installed, I tried the old one and the new one.

The device manager does see both cards, status is "Working Properly" and no, there are no X's or ! next to them.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 10:51 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11090
Location: Home Sweet Home
Have you tried taking the top card and switching it with the bottom card to see if the bottom card is dead? After the switch does the new bottom card output video? Is the new top card outputting video?

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 10:57 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
Yes, I have switched them. The card in the bottom slot, which ever one, has no video output.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 1:19 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1161
What slots are you using? You should be using PCIex16_1 and PCIex16_2, (the top and 2nd x16 slot)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 1:39 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11090
Location: Home Sweet Home
Have you tried using the last pcie slot...hope you have a bridge that will span the gap.

I have a Sabertooth 990FX motherboard and in the bios there is an option to connect the two video cards together. You should take a slow tour through the bios and see if you have these options as well, if so enable them.

SLI option show up in the driver and can you enable it?

If all else fails follow my instructions to uninstall the video driver and install the new one.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 3:27 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 89
The manual says to use the top two slots, PCIe x16_1 and PCIe x16_2 for SLI.

At this point the problem has been solved. I installed two new GTX 660TI cards and SLI is working.

Something in one of the old cards was not playing nice in SLI, dunno why.

I want to thank every one for their time and suggestions!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No SLI
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 4:13 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1161
I wonder if this is the case of forward compatibility not always being compatible? The 7800 are PCIe 1.1 right and you have 3.0 slots? By all rights they should work, but for what ever reason they were not playing nice!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group