Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Replacing Sandy Bridge with Ivy Bridge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:31 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
Hey guys, I want to verify something. If I replace my 2600K with a 3770K, as long as my BIOS supports the new chip, I shouldn't have to do anything other than drop the new chip, is that correct? Don't ask why I would be going to an Ivy Bridge when Haswell is fixing to come out, let's just say I am coming into a 3770K for basically nothing. I just want to make sure I don't have to re-install the OS on this one. Thanks :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing Sandy Bridge with Ivy Bridge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:57 am 
Mr. Late Night
Mr. Late Night
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:10 am
Posts: 753
Since you're sticking with the same motherboard and the only thing changing is the CPU you should be able to just drop in the new chip without issue as long as your BIOS has been updated to support it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing Sandy Bridge with Ivy Bridge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:16 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
nsafreak wrote:
Since you're sticking with the same motherboard and the only thing changing is the CPU you should be able to just drop in the new chip without issue as long as your BIOS has been updated to support it.


Thanks, that what I was thinking I just wanted to make sure :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing Sandy Bridge with Ivy Bridge
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:57 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
For anyone who's interested, I just switched out the processor. Working fine now, not it was kind of weird when I started up for the first time. Of course the ASUS p8p67 Deluxe MB wanted me to enter the bios because a new proc had been installed, which I expected. But when WinXp started it looked like safe mode, with the video being basic VGA. It then went through loading all the MB drivers, then video drivers, then wanted a reboot. After the reboot all the icons were out of order and place from where they were originally, and my second screen was dead. I got eh second screen back up and rebooted again, and everything was back in it's original places. My Win 7 Pro install did the exact same thing. But after setting up the second screen and rebooting it was like I had never done anything to it at all, except for being a little faster...:)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing Sandy Bridge with Ivy Bridge
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:16 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
Monkey Federation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:14 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: Dragon flying go old so I came back to the cage
Thanks for the update atrdriver. Lots of posters never come back to say how they made out. By doing so you just made this thread 200% more useful to others.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group