Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Nov 20, 2014 3:55 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:15 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
I have a new msi gd-80 mobo, I am having a hard time trying to figure out what is going on. On the led debug, I get this order of messages:

FF (for a split second)
19
FF (flashes)
31 (had to slow the footage to see it)
39 (amazing I spotted it)
3b
36 (and it sits there)

No beeps or anything. Does anyone know what these codes mean?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:45 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
I don't have the answer, but have a clue. Try to use one stick of memory at a time. Will it POST and BOOT with either of them in any arrangement of slots?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
ok, I just tested the memory idea, I got the same result. The debug was different, one ended with 36 and sitting with no beeps and another at 4F. The 4F stick, I reset the mobo and drained the power, it went to the same debug message I was getting with the other stick.

The connections are fine, everything is seated, I did a final check on the cpu pins (AMD Phemon 955), the boaard is not bending, and the graphics is hooked up. The only thing I can think of is the old bios from the previous mobo is still around, if I look at formating the prime drive, will that help or is there something else?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:37 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
hey, what is dxe ipl? that is what 4F means
I found this site that might help
http://hwbot.org/forum/showthread.php?t=16017


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:28 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
It gives you these same error codes on each different stick? Hmmm. DXE IPL is a memory initialization error. Invalid memory type or incompatible memory speed. And you're on the latest bios? When was your last good boot? What did you change from then until now...hardware or software, any AV or malware scans, anything?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:45 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
the last good boot was a while ago, weeks. I was moving my computer to another case (try looking up wordpress metalglasses to see what I am doing) the computer once in place wouldn't boot up suddenly and I could never figure it out. I bought the upgrade GD80 MSI 990FX. I am still having a simulair problem.

It could be a bios thing. I booted my main drive (SSD) into another computer and it did turn on but it was incrediably slow and I couldn't do much. I get either a 4F code (I just saw this, that link is for sandy bridge, my mistake). It has a AMD3 chip phemon II 955. Sometimes a 36 code (either clearing cmos or moving ram around).

The thing that is not helping is I cannot get into bios at all. No beeps nada.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:21 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4749
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
This may be a stupid question but I have to ask. Did you also transfer the standoffs when you transferred the motherboard? Or is it just installed without them?
If you did transfer them, are there any that might be out of place under the motherboard?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:15 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
Yes I did transfer the standoffs (that came with a previous build a few years ago) I made sure they lined up before screwing them in. The motherboard tray is straight.

Also I just reseated the cpu, I got stuck at 36 debugger again.

I gave msi a call, wanted to know what 36 and 4F means

After spending like 40 minutes with IT,
36: CPU issue
4F: Ram issue

When I do get stuck on 36, the boot drive/only drive hooked up says 36 while hhd it says 4F. I am at a lost here.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:49 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 734
Location: Rest in Peace... Stratplan & Whitecree & Thomasvjones
Do you have a different AMD3+ CPU you can try on the motherboard?

Maybe your phenom II 955 is the problem?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:31 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
I am really begining to think the mobo is dead. I also went to hook up another win7 hd into the machine, i got the same result. I put in the ssd for my machine to another machine and it worked, but limited because of drivers installed on the ssd.

However, I had a simulair problem with the gd-70, except it would shut down within a 2 min period. The difference is it got video, I could get into the bios.

You people think I shoud try rma'ing it or find some local dude to help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:18 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 7:06 pm
Posts: 622
Location: San Antonio
After figuring out the motherboard had bad caps in another thread, you might inspect your motherboard for bad caps too. If your power supply is older or generic, it may be suffering from bad caps. Unstable voltages from the power supply could confuse things on your motherboard to where things are getting whacky.

If you have overclocked the system, it would be a good idea to set the BIOS to system defaults and see if things behave any better.

It's always good to strip the system down to the basics, CPU, one stick of RAM and a video card. Then add devices until the problem re-appears. You might even want to take the motherboard out of the case and try to fire things up that way. I know you checked the mounting points, but trying the system outside of the case will rule out any sort of grounding issue that may be happening that would be difficult to spot with the board in the case.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:12 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
I requested rma on the motherboard. It is the mobo, I get different codes, either bad ram or cpu. We'll see what happens


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: troubleshooting new motherboard
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 80
I requested rma on the motherboard. It is the mobo, I get different codes, either bad ram or cpu. We'll see what happens


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.