Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:31 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 16
I currently have an Asus P8P67 Deluxe MB fitted with a sandy bridge 2600k processor.
Ram is 16G of DDR3 @ 1.6GHz Windows 7 Professional
I would like to upgrade to a newer MB with a faster processor.
My question / concern is:
Since I currently have hundreds of programs, games, files, etc on my current system, is it possible to upgrade the MB/proc and NOT have to reinstall everything again? I'm not even sure I can find all the program discs for everything any more.

I'm basically looking for the least painful way of doing this and any help would be appreciated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:36 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5254
If you can separate the programs from the OS, you can reinstall the OS just fine if need be. Most programs don't need to go through an install process to work, except if they need to be activated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:55 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 16
I'm not sure I understand how to do that separating programs from OS

Can you explain how that would be done?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:09 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Back-from-the-dead, Georgia
I do know that for the most part, the hard drives themselves should have little to no changes being made. You're likely to keep all of your personal data, but the programs are questionable as to how they have to be treated when it comes to reinstalling and activating. Windows 7 should easily contact the Update section itself to install their drivers for the new motherboard, processor, graphics card, ect., to support your changes. Try doing that with XP, though...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:28 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5254
Billro wrote:
I'm not sure I understand how to do that separating programs from OS

Can you explain how that would be done?

Just copy and paste the folders to another partition/hard drive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:25 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
And depending upon the software, you'll need to map over the new destinations within the Registry.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:56 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 16
I was afraid of that. Is there any way to automate that process?
I'm not too keen on messing with the registry. Seems like I would
be better off just reinstalling.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:41 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5254
No, I've even dabbled in the registry to look for a few things, and I'm even convinced there's no real guarantee it'll work.

But most programs are really "portable", in that once you install them, that's it, you can run them wherever. It's only the programs that require activation that I have a problem with.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:06 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
Billro wrote:
I currently have an Asus P8P67 Deluxe MB fitted with a sandy bridge 2600k processor.
Ram is 16G of DDR3 @ 1.6GHz Windows 7 Professional
I would like to upgrade to a newer MB with a faster processor.
My question / concern is:
Since I currently have hundreds of programs, games, files, etc on my current system, is it possible to upgrade the MB/proc and NOT have to reinstall everything again? I'm not even sure I can find all the program discs for everything any more.

I'm basically looking for the least painful way of doing this and any help would be appreciated.


Anything in the Sandy Bridge/ Ivy Bridge line you shouldn't need to reinstall much if anything. Only way to really find out is to try it.

Why do you need something faster than a 2600k? It still holds it own against the latest and greatest while being a great overclocker. At least overclock it to 4.5 and see if it meets your needs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 16
Well, the main reason is, I do a lot of audio recording and my audio interface is firewire. I am starting to experience some issues with my onboard firewire port. Switching to USB is not an option since my audio interface/digital mixer runs about $1300 retail. I built my current system almost two years ago (march will be 2 years) and to buy more upgrade-ability, I felt I needed to go for a 2011 mb form factor. Personally, if I can get one or two more years out of this one that would be great but I also don't want to fall behind the tech curve too much. Btw, I also do a bit of 3d animation, video editing and play games, so the more powerful the system for me the better.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:19 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Firewire? Really and for real? Why? I've finally found the one user. OMG!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Processor change help needed
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:01 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 16
Hehe, actually in the world of audio recording firewire is not uncommon. I'm sure with thunderbird, it will phase out, but it is currently still very common. Probably not so much so with the enthusiast as is populated by this board.
without wanting to cause a debate on the subject, check this out http://www.qimaging.com/support/pdfs/firewire_usb_technote.pdf
it's pretty informative. Plus FW400 can handle 100 simultaneous channels, whereas USB 2.0 can only handle 16. Personally I would rather not have to deal with firewire, but the higher quality audio stuff seems to have it included.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group