Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:42 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 134
Location: Scotts Ridge
Sorry in advance if this is a worn-out topic. :roll:

I just installed Max Payne 3 via Steam, and it won't run properly. :evil: I have contacted both Steam and Rockstar, and have gotten zero help :evil: :evil: :evil: .

In particular, it will only run consistently under Windows Server 2003 SP1 compatibity mode, and then only in DX9 graphics :idea: .

I have Windows 7 Pro 64 bit (kept up to date) and Sapphire HD 7950x2 (driver is current).

I have looked around at various forums and this seems to be a common problem, with many different proposed fixes, few of which make any sense to me (not that that necessarily means anything :mrgreen: ); I did try some of them (the less bizarre/adventurous ones. Thank heaven for Windows Restore Points :!: .) with no result.

I have gotten the Rockstar Social Club stuff working OK, and I can run the game in the compatibility mode mentioned above, but of course i would prefer to run in under DX11. For some reason I do not comprehend, twice I was able to get the game running by selecting Windows 7 compatibility mode and running as admin. The game would start up OK, but when I selected DX 11 graphics setting, the game crashed on restart. I have not been able to consistently reproduce this result -- seems random; most of the time the game will not even start under this compat. mode. It seems to me I have some sort of video driver conflict or incompatibility, but I'm not sure.

AMD says a new Catalyst driver will be out next week, so I am hoping that will fix the problem.

Any ideas ?

How annoying are my Smilies ? :wink: :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:34 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
When you uninstall/install the video driver how do you do it?

You should:

Shut off the anti-virus.

Uninstall the Catalyst software via the Control Panel app for it. Say no to the reboot for now.

Look for and delete the ATI/AMD folder and empty the recycle bin.

Download, install and run the registry section of Ccleaner.

Now reboot and cancel the two popups.

Shut off the anti-virus.

Install the latest driver, reboot when asked and you should be able to run that game.

Make sure you have windows fully updated with all the necessary updates not including the optional updates.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:23 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 134
Location: Scotts Ridge
Thanks for the tip. I only have Microsoft Security Essentials (PC is used only for gaming).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:50 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 134
Location: Scotts Ridge
Oh, up 'till now, I have just been letting the AMD Catalyst software run in the background without doing anything, assuming it takes care of its own updating.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:25 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 134
Location: Scotts Ridge
Nastyman -- Thank You !!! Your procedure worked :D :D . Max Payne 3 now runs in DX11 mode and looks great;
hopefully it will continue to do so henceforth.

Will I have to follow the procedure every time I update the Catalyst driver ?

BTW&FWIW, neither Rockstar nor Steam have yet to respond to the 2 requests for help I submitted several days ago :evil: .


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max Payne 3 issues
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:23 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11117
Location: Home Sweet Home
Quote:
Will I have to follow the procedure every time I update the Catalyst driver ?


The short answer is yes and the long answer is yes..... :mrgreen: This method has never failed me yet.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.