Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:27 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 140
Location: Chicago
I recently bought a combo special on Newegg that included the Asus Sabertooth Z77, 8GB of G.Skill Ares 1600 RAM and an i7-3770K processor.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131821
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231546
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819116501

When I try to start up with the RAM in slots A2 B2 as the manual recommends the computer won't boot and a solid red LED is lit by the memory reset button. So, I then tried holding the button to test other configs and it still doesn't boot.

Next I removed the stick in B2 and it started right up. Just to test, I swapped the sticks and as long as there is only 1 stick of memory in A2, it will boot, both sticks appear to work on their own, just not together. After I got it to boot again I updated the BIOS and tried again, but it still didn't work with both A2 and B2 populated, same goes for populating A1 B1.

Does anyone have any thoughts on if this is a memory incompatibility, bad memory, bad motherboard or something else? I'm hoping, worst case scenario it's the memory or an incompatibility so I have to dismantle this thing again completely.

Any thoughts? Thanks for the help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:47 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:14 am
Posts: 74
i didnt see it listed as supported, but perhaps its juts a bad set.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:55 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 140
Location: Chicago
Yeah, I'm not sure about the Asus list, it didn't seem all that up to date. It seemed like a lot of the others I went searching for and were either perpetually out of stock of discontinued. According to G.Skill anyway, it was tested on that board.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:07 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Never go by the compatibility list from the mainboard mfr. It's never up-to-date, think about it...why should it? Go by the memory mfr list. Ares DIMMS are fantastic. I've built almost a dozen systems with these sticks in the Sabertooth, so they fit. Re-seat 'em and check back.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:35 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 140
Location: Chicago
So far I've checked for anything metal touching the motherboard and it's free and clear.

I tried 1 or 2 sticks of RAM in various configurations and basically any time A1 or A2 are populated, it won't boot.

A1 - Doesn't work
A2 - Doesn't work
A1 & A2 - Doesn't work

B1 - Works
B2 - Works
B1 & B2 - Works

A1 - B1 - Doesn't work
A2 - B1 - Doesn't work
A1 - B2 - Doesn't work
A2 - B2 - Doesn't work

Could anything but a bad motherboard cause it to behave like this?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:32 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:04 am
Posts: 1035
How long ago did you buy this combo deal from NewEgg? If you can, I would RMA the whole damn thing for replacement or refund. After doing a little bit of research on the reviews, you might want to check the motherboard for any bent (or broken) pins in the CPU socket--it appears as though this could be another cause of the issue that you are experiencing. Unfortunately, if this is the problem, NewEgg will not RMA the board (as they consider bent or broken CPU pins to be the fault of the end user. ASUS will repair it, but for a fee, for the same reason.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:10 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
pcstudent wrote:
If you can, I would RMA the whole damn thing for replacement or refund.


Sage advice. Sounds like you have a busted board.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:01 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 140
Location: Chicago
I got everything on Wednesday and have been troubleshooting ever since.

I may pickup another Sabertooth locally and test it. If it works I'll just keep that one and RMA the bad board, but that will at least give me a chance to check for bent pins and to localize the issue and then move on to RAM or CPU if the swap doesn't fix it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:33 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 140
Location: Chicago
As predicted, it was a bent pin. Not even bent pins as in multiple, but a single bent pin. I had to move my flashlight at different angles just to see the damn thing. I replaced the motherboard, installed everything and booted up like a champ.

Thank you all very much for the help. I took a macro shot of the bent pin, after I get this thing up and running and post a link to it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus Sabertooth Z77 + G.SKILL Ares 1600 = Headache
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:27 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24336
Location: South of heaven
The memory testing is by chips on those tested, not as a memory stick as a whole. If OCZ 1600 were passed, it doesn't mean they all do.

Try A2/B2 and A2/B1...you're checking both the memory and the build. If it works in single channel (which it does and should), then it's a memory issue and not really dual channel like they claim. Mushkin...I bet it works. G.Skill, Corsair, and Patriot piss me off a lot.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group