Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Behind 2 switches/
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:54 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Kansas
My wife runs a home daycare which is in the basement. I have run ethernet cable from a switch in my office down to the basement to another switch with two computers. Instead of trying to get a wireless signal down to the basement I ran a 50' ethernet line from the basement switch to a DVD player so the kids can watch Netflix movies. The two basement computers work well with good speed and have for years but when I have trouble getting a signal to the DVD player. I took the DVD player to another TV and it works. Both switches are powered... Any ideas??


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Behind 2 switches/
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:26 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:04 am
Posts: 90
What do you mean by “trouble getting a signal to the DVD player”? As in the blu-ray output is not up to your expectations on the TV? That you can’t access Netflix at all? Or you can access Netflix but it doesn’t streaming smoothly?

Because based solely on your description, it doesn’t make sense why it would make any difference where the blu-ray player was plugged into your network wiring. As long as the lengths are not excessive (ethernet is good up to 100m), it’s irrelevant. Are you sure it’s not just a bad cable?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Behind 2 switches/
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:15 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:39 am
Posts: 70
Location: Bikini Bottom Bizarro World
Or a bad switchport


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Behind 2 switches/
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:23 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Kansas
By trouble I mean it will not connect to the internet. The Sony DVD say that it is successfully connected but cannot access the internet. I tried the same port on the switch with with the computers and tried the DVD on other ports on the switch, the computers work on all of the ports on the switch. That is why I am posting because it does not make sense to me. Even though the switch is powered could I not be receiving enough signal to the DVD? How do I measure this? ?????


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.