Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Increase WIFI range
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,

@ present i am a subscriber to DSL. The hardware that came with the subscription is a Motorola 2247-62
Modem/Router combination. With 2.5GHz & 4 LAN ports.
The home has 2 desktops, 1 laptop & 1 LED Smart HDTV. I would like to be able to connect all three or more items
without sacrificing connection speed. Especially the video content [ Smart HDTV ]. one option was to connect a
'Dual Band N Access Point' to modem/router.
If so, would like to get feedback on a great device without burning my pocketbook. HeLP???!!
Thank you, Very much for your precious time and diligence.
:o


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Increase WIFI range
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:51 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:07 pm
Posts: 2622
Location: NC
Honestly, any wireless router or access point is going to be way faster than your internet speeds. Even the old wireless b or g standard.

As for wifi, it really depends on the penetration power that you require; what your building/home is made from, what frequency/standard you need to connect your HDTV/laptop, and how much distance we are talking about. Even then, most consumer level products are going to fit the average home wifi coverage through thin wood framing and dry walls. Now if you live in a thick concrete building, your wifi probably won't make it past the 2nd or 3rd wall, but again it depends on how powerful your antenna is.

There are some routers/access points that can be loaded with a custom firmware using 3rd party tools like dd-wrt and tomato; they may have a feature for certain routers to boost the power/signal gain for even more coverage.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Increase WIFI range .....
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:22 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
JBaz,

Thanks for the feedback and options. The reason i mentioned 'Access Point' because
in another forum it was stated. 'Access point's' are easier [ less steps ] to set-up.
Because, yours truly is not much of a techno wiz. :|
However, you stated. One could connect an aftermarket 'Router' also. Thanks.
For the record, my home is not made of thick walls or steel reinforcing & the devices are
within 33 feet of the modem/router.
Again, Thank you, for the tips.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Increase WIFI range
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:39 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:24 pm
Posts: 20
Better You Change you Wifi Device I suggest you the TP link 300 MBPS Wifi Router


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group