Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:51 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4730
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
I've never had to do this before. Coming here for direction.
My sister replaced her router after the wall wort had a nuclear meltdown. But there is a 'problem'.
Her internet service modem they provide wants to be 192.168.0.1 and the router wants to be the same.
How do I change the router to 192.168.1.1??
I've never had this 'conflict' before so I've never even thought about what I would need to do.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:14 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 1026
dedgar wrote:
I've never had to do this before. Coming here for direction.
My sister replaced her router after the wall wort had a nuclear meltdown. But there is a 'problem'.
Her internet service modem they provide wants to be 192.168.0.1 and the router wants to be the same.
How do I change the router to 192.168.1.1??
I've never had this 'conflict' before so I've never even thought about what I would need to do.

For my router (WNDR 3700), you can change the LAN IP address (it's under "LAN Setup"), try looking for something similar. What router do you have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:10 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 728
mag wrote:
For my router (WNDR 3700), you can change the LAN IP address (it's under "LAN Setup"), try looking for something similar. What router do you have?


You'll also have to change the DHCP pool to addresses in the same range. That setting shouldn't be too far from the LAN address.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:45 am 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4730
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
mag wrote:
What router do you have?


Netgear DIR-655


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:27 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 1026
dedgar wrote:
mag wrote:
What router do you have?


Netgear DIR-655

I'm assuming you mean D-LINK.

Assuming you haven't registered for SecureSpot.
Go to "Setup" then "Network Settings". Change "Router IP Address" to "192.168.1.1", then change "DHCP IP Address Range" to "192.168.1.x" and "192.168.1.y", where x and y are your DHCP address ranges.

Who knew that D-LINK has emulators for many of their routers? Also the SecureSpot looks interesting.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing routers and have a problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:47 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4730
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
Yes I meant D-Link. Was even staring at the box. (facepalm)


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group