Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Powerline Ethernet adapters
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:38 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 5:30 am
Posts: 147
Location: Qo'nos
I switched ISPs recently and found that running an ethernet line to my secondary machine is unfeasible, and wireless sucks. Looking to invest in a wired powerline networking kit.

Here's what I need:

-Need a kit of 2 adapters
-I'd like to stay away from Linksys from personal experience (and the recommendation of my ISP service dude) but am otherwise not brand-loyal
-Don't care about speed as long as it can stream 1080p
-Love Newegg
-Gateway is an ATT i38HG if that matters
-budget is $100 US but you might talk me into spending more

Questions:

-Do they need to be on the same circuit (breaker box)?
-If one adapter is plugged into a daisy chain of power strips with a lot of other running equipment, will that negatively impact performance or reliability (CRT TV and a 400-wattish mATX machine but otherwise nothing has a high power draw)?
-Anything else I need to know before I click the "buy" button?

I'm in a hurry to get this machine online and don't have a ton of time to do product research which is why I thought I'd ask for recommendations here.

Thank you! ^_^


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerline Ethernet adapters
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:44 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 1922
Location: A place not actively occupied by something else.
Netgear makes some.
Question 1: Yes, they do need to be on the same circuit.
Question 2: The power strips will kill the signal. The power strips see the Ethernet signals as power surges in between the ON part of the AC wave thingamajig.
Question 3: Get the Gigabit one, otherwise it is just as fast as Wireless Draft N.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerline Ethernet adapters
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:59 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:19 am
Posts: 1420
Location: Malware Removal GOD
This is the one I have: TPL-401E2K

Here is a tip, be it TrendNet or Netgear or whoever, you'll see ones with "Bonus Outlets" DO NOT GET THOSE! The reason is they are larger and in the end you actually loose an outlet space. The one like TPL-401E2K you can plug this in and still have room for an extra outlet. The only time the bonus outlet is good is when you have a single outlet

Powerline Tip: Don't plug the power line into a surge protector. You can plug it into a power strip with no serge protection but you are honestly better just plugging it into the wall.

What they won't tell you is you will get the 500 mbps if the connection is being using in the same room but go down 1 floor or even down the hall and the speeds will drop. Just the nature of the beast even though it is using the LAN cable its is using your current power.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group