Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Want to setup a CISCO CCNA home lab and need some help
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 3:45 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:04 am
Posts: 174
Ok, so i want to set a a lab in my house to study for the CCNA exam. I already have a CISCO 2501 router and a CISCO 2610 router and three laptops. Should i buy a switch? If so how many and which models. My budget is limited (preferably the cheapest switch i can get by).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Want to setup a CISCO CCNA home lab and need some help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:18 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 728
Ideally you want at least 2 routers and 2 switches, but 3 of each is better. Of course more is always better, but the return on investment isn't that great after 3. For switches, the sweet spot as far as price/features is the 2950, which you can pick up for less than $50 on eBay. As far as routers, what you have is sufficient as long as there is enough RAM and Flash in them to run a decent enough IOS verison. You want at least IOS 12.2.

If you can't/won't afford any further equipment, download GNS3 (a free Cisco router emulator) and http://www.freeccnaworkbook.com. It will walk you through downloading and setting up GNS3 and then take you through exercises that will cover all of the CCNA exam topics. You can also get free remote access to a full lab at http://packetlife.net/ and at http://www.stubarea.net.


Last edited by alan2308 on Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Want to setup a CISCO CCNA home lab and need some help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:57 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:51 am
Posts: 4
If you are still looking for information I would highly recommend:

http://www.networkworld.com/community/odom

I have been reading his blog for a while and have set up a CCNA/CCNP lab at work based on his articles. He lists exactly what to get as well as projected prices and recommended IOS to have running.

Hope it helps and good luck!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Want to setup a CISCO CCNA home lab and need some help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:08 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 728
sandeja1, Wendell doesn't really post there anymore, try his blog here:

http://ccnaskills.wordpress.com/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Want to setup a CISCO CCNA home lab and need some help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:24 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:23 am
Posts: 1
I know this is old, but I was looking for the same thing, and I like this one http://www.certificationkits.com/cisco-lab-suggestions/


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.