Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: configure D-Link router to assign static IP for server
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 4:37 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1454
I've got a DLink DIR-655 (Revision B1 router) and I'm trying to set up a file serve running Windows 2003 Standard. Anyway, I want to configure my router so that it will always give the server a pre-determined IP address (so that I can configure the client computers to use the static IP address for the server).

Does anyone know how to set static IP address for devices on D-Link routers? The router is a retail router, not an enterprise/industrial type router. Just your normal store-bought router.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: configure D-Link router to assign static IP for server
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:12 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4912
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
I would do this on my own '655; but, I have it running in AP-Only mode. So, I turn to the online DIR-655 emulator.

Anyhoo...
Network > Network settings. Scroll down to 'add DHCP reservation.'
Check the 'enabled' box, and enter the computer name (its network name), desired IP address (IIRC, it must fall within the router's DHCP range), and MAC address for the computer in question, and hit Save.

Since the server is set up to get an IP address automatically, and DHCP rules state that a client will first try to request the same IP that it previously had, a reboot probably won't give it the new IP.
You'll likely need to run a Repair on the server's network connection (do this logged in locally - not via RDP), or an ip reset (netsh int ip reset, from a command prompt.)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: configure D-Link router to assign static IP for server
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 8:41 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1454
OK, but adding the DHCP Reservation will force the router to give the Server the given IP address (even after reboot of router, or after power failure, etc--providing it doesn't loose the settings)?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: configure D-Link router to assign static IP for server
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 3:56 am 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4912
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
That's correct.
It's not often, though, that a router 'forgets' its settings - normally, that only happens if you hit the reset button. ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group