Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:13 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:05 am
Posts: 81
I'm using Firefox 3.6.12 and even with Flashblock and Ad Block Plus installed something on the main page is using 100% of my CPU.

Every page does it. Does anybody know what it is and how to kill it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:31 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Visit the Free Clinic, as it's not the website or the browser.

If you installed the CPU client of Folding@Home from the CD in the mag, then it's doing what it's suppose to do.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:18 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4739
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
Start the Task Manager. Go to the Processes tab and tell us what is using up your cpu cycles
And as Chumly said, this should be in the Free Clinic.
Maybe a mod could move it there?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:04 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24224
Location: Granite Heaven
Fantastic idea, dedgar. Done. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:55 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:05 am
Posts: 81
Firefox is running at 100% and only when a tab is open to Maximum PC. It doesn't happen in IE8 for some reason.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:12 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
What CPU are you using?

What else are you doing with the computer when this happens?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Main page is maxing my CPU
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 10:06 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 41
Probably a problem with Firefox. I use to love Firefox but when they released that update with that God Awful Plugin Container, I made the move to Google Chrome. You might want to see if you have that Plugin Container. This may be what is causing your problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group