Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Earliest performance tweak you've done.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 5:34 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
What was the first tweak hardware wise that you've done? When was the first time you actually encountered the topic of hardware tweaks. (not just overclocking)

My first encounter was with a tape drive for the very old VIC-20! There was a screw that you could turn to increase the speed of the tape drive to make the programs load faster.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:12 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
My earliest hardware tweak that I can recall ATM:

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:12 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
I never tweaked in my commodore and 386 days. Actually the first physical twaek I did, was to add a stock AMD T-Bird heatsink/fan and Ramsinks to my Radeon AIW 32MB. Then did a volt mod to it. Before the mod I got my OC to 202/202 on that card. Afterwards it did 210/210 watch out! lol. It was an ugly looking monstrosity too.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:03 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
Next I remember tweaking the autoexec.bat and config.sys files in DOS 5 to get 'Big' games to play.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:04 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
One4yu2c wrote:
My earliest hardware tweak that I can recall ATM:


Good to see the old C64 mentioned!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:26 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
AMD K6-2. i upped the FSB to like 110mhz.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:10 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Satchboy wrote:
Good to see the old C64 mentioned!


It's what basically got me into computers. Never looked back since.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:13 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
my first hardware tweeks were a lesson never to be forgotten..never do them all at the same time :oops:

this lesson was quickly followed by another lesson...how to reinstall an os :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:32 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
AMD 486 DX-2 66 MHz overclocked to 80 MHz, with no fan or heatsink.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Earliest performance tweak you've done.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 3:11 pm 
Evil Overclockin' Genius
Evil Overclockin' Genius
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 7:19 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Somewhere in Big Orange country
Satchboy wrote:
My first encounter was with a tape drive for the very old VIC-20! There was a screw that you could turn to increase the speed of the tape drive to make the programs load faster.


I remember using one in 1982 and I had no tape drive to start with...typing in all that schitz only to have it disappear once you turned it off...but I quickly learned BASIC that way... :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:08 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9226
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
trash 80 doubled mem to 32k, added hardware reset switch.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:11 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
my dad tweaked his Atari's out doubling things, adding things and other various things


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: ram heatsink
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:00 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
using a homemade thermal paste to add a killer looking 3 pronged heatsink on to the little 2 inch stick of 32MB ram in my first system.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 4:43 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
The first video card that I oc'd was a Creative Labs Banshee (Voodoo 2 based) card. Got about 5% increase out of it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 6:45 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
My first tweak was the "Turbo" button. It took me quite a while to realize what it did, but then again I was only 7 years old! :lol:

If you can't count the turbo button as a tweak, then my first tweak was oc'ing my AMD Athlon 700mhz chip to 800mhz. I was quite pleased with it.

My most recent tweak is of course running an AMD Barton 2500+ at 3200+. As soon as I get more fans and fan connecters in the mail I may try to take it higher. Last I checked the CPU temp it was at 49C. But current fans are 2x 80mm. Soon it will be 1x 120mm, 2x 80mm, and 1x 60mm! :P Thing is going to be so much cooler!

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 7:10 am 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 3219
Location: Da Basestar
I think it was overclocking a 233MHz Pentium MMX to 266Mhz.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 8:12 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
The first time I oc'd a cpu and vid card together was my Duron 400MHz @ 450 MHz and my Radeon 64DDR running 10% quicker (I don't remember the actual clock speeds of that Radeon)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 11:26 am 
Super Folder
Super Folder
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:23 am
Posts: 180
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
I overclocked my 486-DX2. Don't remember the speeds or anything (God, its been over a decade already?!?)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 11:59 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
Satchboy wrote:
The first time I oc'd a cpu and vid card together was my Duron 400MHz @ 450 MHz and my Radeon 64DDR running 10% quicker (I don't remember the actual clock speeds of that Radeon)


The lowest speed Duron sold was a 600Mhz unit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 1:06 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Punching tape to make my ship's turbines run at higher TIT with the waterwash system on. Without new tape, you could overtemp due to the leaning of the fuel mixture. But, once the ship was a couple months old...

Reading through Navy Tech Manuals and Litton Engineering diagrams trying to figure out how Windows CE (yup) was intigrated in to replace the tape looms on a BSD control system (later ditched for the parts availability of the old discrete ckts). Again, my first tweak was to get the turbines to run with the water on. I was comfortable with the parameters.

Very funky setup it was indeed. It was interesting being on that ship because you always had techreps trying something new out. When the old salts and new "schoolers" came on and opened up the panels to find empty looms was a hoot. As soon as I nudged them to the touchscreen panel displaying "windows CE" on it, they usually grumbled and gave up without a fight:D


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group