Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: verizon must hate Rural Areas
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:26 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
I have been getting mad at Verizon lately in the rural area were I am at there is Limited amount of DSL connections and they are all full and people are still moving into area and they don't see it profitable to upgrade and add more DSL slots. I am within range to the switching station for DSL . So eaither someone moves or cancels there DSL I am stuck on Dial-up. Before I moved there was DSL available but after I moved all the slots filled up.

Moving to a Rural area is a double edge sword it has nice land healthier air but does not have landline broadband. The only other connections are Satellite internet"Max 17GB Limit" or 3G "5GB Limit. I can't do any of them because I can easily use up 25GB to 40GB + a month. I am a heavy Downloader

I would like to through Verizon into the dog pound.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:53 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
fail


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 3:32 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
What's wrong with cable?
Verizon's DSL isn't as good as people say it is. I have 2 neighbors that switched & say it's about the same speed as Comcast but more expensive.

You can always go with WildBlue.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 6:27 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:23 am
Posts: 2627
Location: Folding as BlackSun59
I've had Verizon DSL for three years now and love it. $20 a month for life for 3Mbps down/768kbps up and no capping. I've never heard of this "limited amount of DSL connections" or "add[ing] more DSL slots" BS. Where I live you either are within range or you aren't.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 7:54 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
So I'm puzzled....

I assume Verizon is the telco in your area...so what you're saying would roughly mean that a competing DSL provider also could not offer service in the area...

something about not enough slots doesn't smell right... or verizon has found a way to skirt what laws that are in place to govern this.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 7:55 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
In my Area is ONLY Verizon for DSL no other ones. Verizon got the old switching station from GTE I think and they only added a few DSL racks.There is no Cable I wish Time warner was here.

I thought of Wildblue but the only plan I would even have to do is near $80 and a 17GB max usage. I would use that up in 1 to 2 weeks. My normal Bandwidith usage on broadband is over 2.2GB a day.

Big companies just don't want to expand into a rural areas so those people can only get Satellite or Dial-up internet. Sometime this year Sprint will have 4G in my area so I can get my broadband from that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 8:05 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
To be clear...there's nothing....there's nothing that prevents an ISP from utilizing the local requipment.

Granted...rural areas have been less serviced...but still...a company like speakeasy or covad could still offer service to you, regardless of what Verizon says and they actually have the horses to make things happen with them, as opposed to a single voice to the teleco.

Where are you at anyways?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:16 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
I am in Phelan, CA
no speakeasy or DSLextreme there is not even a WiMAX provider

The only Services is

Verizon Landline "DIAL-UP only"
Verizon Wireless 3G but the 5GB limit will not work for me

Sprint 3G"as of now" 5GB limit

Wildblue with max 17GB bandwidith usage
hughesnet Satellite internet

ISDN "Needs special Phone Line setup and expensive"


For what I do I need something that does realtime capacity


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:56 am 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:35 am
Posts: 1998
re DSL "slots".. DSLAM

sounds like verizon is cheaping out.

I live in the sticks and am beyond DSL range and cable wants 5 grand to run a line. I have verizon EVDO (3G) but I got in before the 5 gig cap so am grandfathered in with no cap. cant do FPS or racing games with 100-150 ping but I get 1.5 mb/s down and .7 up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:31 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
from what I heard on around the net that rural areas back when verizon was laying fiber that those areas were not on the books.

but hopefully in 3 months there will be 4G up here sprint is working on there cell towers now.

When you get forced onto dial-up to were racing or FPS games get 178+ ping the 100 ping sounds great.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:39 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
So ... you're on a dialup connection because you can't control your bandwidth consumption?

I know you want to DL a lot, but honestly, wouldn't it be better to have high-speed and less bandwidth than a dial-up connection that doesn't allow you to DL anything at all?

I'm curious: what does a 2.2GB/day addiction look like? What are you doing that sucks up so much bandwidth?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:52 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
the 2.2GB is Stream TWiT live Video and downloading homebrew PSP stuff and game usage and update.

No I am on Dial-up because I can't get DSL or Cable and I have to do stuff that requires realtime functions Dial-up is slow but it had some realtime available but Satellite does not it is just for Web and some other things. Also I do use Bittorrent to download game updates for like Call of duty and etc. to were when I am in game back on broadband I can throttle to were it does not lag the game and Bittorrent you can't do on satellite internet.

believe me I WANT broadband but can't get it. I miss doing Ventrilo, Gameing online, Playstation 3, mini Game servers, A music server for when I am away.

Heck I can't even update my Games on steam or my Windows 7 on dial-up and steam would eat up broadband just for the updates if I had satellite internet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 4:11 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
What about going with Verizon Wireless's 3G net?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:04 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
Verizon 3G net has only a 5GB transfer limit from what I heard if you go over they charge you more.

I would go over that transfer limit because right now I rent a room from my mom and step dad and my mom does not have a computer yet so she asks to use my and think mixed with my habbits and my moms it would go over the 5GB transfer. if I did that I would still have to keep the Verizon Landline for Dial-up for after it goes over.

3G is not good for your main internet connection in my case that what it would be.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 6:16 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
http://www.dslreports.com/comment/1434/77615

The review says it all...

The guy is in Pinon Hills (which doesn't look to be a couple of miles from Phelan) and getting DsL from someone other then Verizon...

Granted, the service seems to be more of an idsl setup...but hey, if it's as bad as you say, it's not something to sneeze at.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:29 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
now since I have been on Dial-up for so long I by mistake started windows 7 pro on my Main tower it tried to download windows updates in the background or something WGA trip now my legal copy of windows 7 pro cdkey is now blocked by microsoft and nonlegit so my CD Key is now trash.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:10 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
Call them .. it takes about 5 minutes to resolve the problem and have your key unlocked.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:26 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
do you know the phone number?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:39 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
1 800 USE GOOGLE.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:23 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Markitzero wrote:
do you know the phone number?


dude...you can read that off your screen when it pops up?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group