Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:32 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 1112
Location: On t3h h1gh s3@z, fly1n m@h fr3@k fl@g!
tugboat_2 wrote:
I will say this, MS Security Essentials did not horse around. It was; blam, here's your warning message. Then while I said to myself "oh shit what now?"; blam, a message saying threats stopped and removed. No if's, and's, or's, or but's about it.


I've had that happen, and I do NOT like it one bit. It needs to give me a choice. I've had it remove NON-infected, and important, files from my machine before, like some executables, such as steam.exe amongst others. I use legit keyloggers and such on @ least 1 other pc to ensure security of my network, and it wanted to remove it from the system. Mind you, this was NOT a virus, spyware, etc., and did not affect the system in any harmful way, but mse saw it as bad n wanted to remove it, simply due to it's activity. I couldn't do anything to get it to leave me alone about them either, whereas with AVG, Adaware, etc., I CAN and do utilize those options. Nonetheless, Avira still sucks major ass.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:02 pm 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
ya know, you can just tell MSE to ignore the executable and it'll be fine.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:39 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 1112
Location: On t3h h1gh s3@z, fly1n m@h fr3@k fl@g!
Spartacus wrote:
ya know, you can just tell MSE to ignore the executable and it'll be fine.

I tried that and it didn't work. It kept doing it anyway, even after I updated. I just got tired of messing with it. Not to mention, it wasn't always the same files, it was random stuff. I'm not willing to go through my 100+ apps and set them every time it wants me to erase them, just cuz it's too retarded to listen to me or to be smart from the get-go.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:47 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 4053
PM_DMNKLR wrote:
Spartacus wrote:
ya know, you can just tell MSE to ignore the executable and it'll be fine.

I tried that and it didn't work. It kept doing it anyway, even after I updated. I just got tired of messing with it. Not to mention, it wasn't always the same files, it was random stuff. I'm not willing to go through my 100+ apps and set them every time it wants me to erase them, just cuz it's too retarded to listen to me or to be smart from the get-go.


Are you sure we are talking about the same program??

Like I said, I have installed on 20+ systems here at work and I've NEVER run into that before.
I'm not saying it will never happen but you say it like it happens all of the time...that just can't be the case.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:06 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27367
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
Quakindude wrote:
@SM, damned son. How long did you spend Googling to find that info? :lol: :wink:



Zero. I have a bro one IM away at all times for when I need that info.

I surround myself with people who know things, so I don't have to put forth effort into anything. You should know that about me by now. ;)

LOLZ


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:09 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27367
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
-Lawless wrote:
PM_DMNKLR wrote:
Spartacus wrote:
ya know, you can just tell MSE to ignore the executable and it'll be fine.

I tried that and it didn't work. It kept doing it anyway, even after I updated. I just got tired of messing with it. Not to mention, it wasn't always the same files, it was random stuff. I'm not willing to go through my 100+ apps and set them every time it wants me to erase them, just cuz it's too retarded to listen to me or to be smart from the get-go.


Are you sure we are talking about the same program??

Like I said, I have installed on 20+ systems here at work and I've NEVER run into that before.
I'm not saying it will never happen but you say it like it happens all of the time...that just can't be the case.
Bro, he's bitching about a program because he was too stupid to figure out how to make it work. Arguing with that is pointless. ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:10 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
If anyone is still confused, MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) is a free anit-virus software that is far better than the paid for Live OneCare which has been discontinued. OneCare was very bad with poor detection rates among other things. MSE on the other hand, is simple to use, excellent detection rate and is free. It is hands down in my opinion the best AV program, I use it personally and I recommend it to others as well.

You can get it here and try it out for yourself. It was initially released September of last year so it is fairly new but there is a rogue imitation of it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:00 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Airheadq wrote:
If anyone is still confused, MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) is a free anit-virus software that is far better than the paid for Live OneCare which has been discontinued. OneCare was very bad with poor detection rates among other things. MSE on the other hand, is simple to use, excellent detection rate and is free. It is hands down in my opinion the best AV program, I use it personally and I recommend it to others as well.


Installed it and like it, for the most part, I do have two major gripes though...

1. It changed my Windows auto update setting, it tells you but will not let you not opt-out of this, had to change it back manually.

2. It invokes CardSpace, IMO, at this point it is useless and does nothing but suck up resources when I launch my browser, I had to disable it, no opt-out during install which is pure bullshit.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:38 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:54 am
Posts: 139
We have to give Microsoft accolades with MSE. Altho it isn't included on the O/S disc, like McAfee A/V was back in the dark days of Win95 they have included something that works very well. I'm just curious as to who wrote MSE, meaning which company MS worked out an agreement with to use it.
WE all know MS isn't in the software protection business.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:40 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
drainbread wrote:
Installed it and like it, for the most part, I do have two major gripes though...

1. It changed my Windows auto update setting, it tells you but will not let you not opt-out of this, had to change it back manually.

2. It invokes CardSpace, IMO, at this point it is useless and does nothing but suck up resources when I launch my browser, I had to disable it, no opt-out during install which is pure bullshit.


1. My autoupdate settings are set to manual, Action Center says it an issue but I just ignore it.

2. You can disable the CardSpace service, however, I never got that message.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:43 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Airheadq wrote:
drainbread wrote:
Installed it and like it, for the most part, I do have two major gripes though...

1. It changed my Windows auto update setting, it tells you but will not let you not opt-out of this, had to change it back manually.

2. It invokes CardSpace, IMO, at this point it is useless and does nothing but suck up resources when I launch my browser, I had to disable it, no opt-out during install which is pure bullshit.


1. My autoupdate settings are set to manual, Action Center says it an issue but I just ignore it.

2. You can disable the CardSpace service, however, I never got that message.


1. I've had auto update turned off since that bullshit a couple of years back when they forced everybody to update something, even those that were just set to alert, I manually check for updates every couple of days anyway.

2. Tis very sneeky, it doesn't tell you, you have to dig through task manager to even see it is running.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:31 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Found another flaw, I was downloading a podcast archive and got an alert, I chose to allow it so I could check the file later...

History doesn't give the file name, this is a major flaw.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:36 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
When it detects something, click to show the detection/information screen. At the bottom it says "Show Details." There it gives information about whats being detected, where the file is downloaded to as well as where it was downloaded from. So, yes it does show the file name. :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:48 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Airheadq wrote:
When it detects something, click to show the detection/information screen. At the bottom it says "Show Details." There it gives information about whats being detected, where the file is downloaded to as well as where it was downloaded from. So, yes it does show the file name. :?


It doesn't show it in the history.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:00 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
drainbread wrote:
Airheadq wrote:
When it detects something, click to show the detection/information screen. At the bottom it says "Show Details." There it gives information about whats being detected, where the file is downloaded to as well as where it was downloaded from. So, yes it does show the file name. :?


It doesn't show it in the history.


In the history, highlight the virus or whatever, and then scroll the details down (at the very bottom). Should be listed under "Items:."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:23 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Airheadq wrote:
drainbread wrote:
Airheadq wrote:
When it detects something, click to show the detection/information screen. At the bottom it says "Show Details." There it gives information about whats being detected, where the file is downloaded to as well as where it was downloaded from. So, yes it does show the file name. :?


It doesn't show it in the history.


In the history, highlight the virus or whatever, and then scroll the details down (at the very bottom). Should be listed under "Items:."


IT DOESN'T FUCKING GO UP TO 11!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:02 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 1917
I agree MSE is a great striped down a/v,plus it never nags :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:45 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:16 pm
Posts: 53
Panda cloud also does not nag :!:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Avira, you fail at life...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:34 am 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1461
CrashTECH wrote:
How come with the free edition I get bombarded with Avira pop-ups trying to sell me their "pro" versions? It was so annoying I removed Avira and went back to AVG. Seriously, no other free AV is that annoying.


I've only seen maybe 1 or 2 per day, mainly during updates. But I've never gotten bombarded with popups. It may not be the best AV out there, and AVG might be better, but a while back MaxPC gave it a good rating for the free version, mainly for its detection speed and ratio (which was pretty much on par with AVG and other freebies).

I personally don't like using the free versions, unless it's on a strictly Internet-only machine where NO data is kept. Then I don't care: AVG or Avira. but for everything else, it's a good quality paid Internet Security Suite for me.

Although AVG doesn't nag, the little thing at the bottom does get annoying, and when they release a new version, then you start getting the occasional popup, which can be bothersome at times.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group