Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Painkiller crashes (Among other games as well)
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:04 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
O.K. before anyone asks me if my video drivers, bios, DirectX and other
updated drivers need attention, they don't. All are current.
BTW I have an ATI 9600XT.

Now the question: Is there a reputable answer to why games crash
to the desktop? I am frustrated at the constant crashes and error messages. Can it be pinpointed, maybe narrowed down?

Does nVidia have better cards?

Ask me any questions and I will be glad to accept your help.
Thanx,
David


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:23 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
well post your system specs for ram mobo cpu and all the other stuff. if you have cheap ass ram that could be flaking out on you, you could also be overheating depending on what type of heatsink you have for your processor and how many case fans you have and how open your case is for air flow. post system specs and we can troubleshoot more specifically


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hope this helps
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:18 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
AMD Athlon XP-A, 1833 MHz (11 x 167) 2500+
Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2 v2.0

DIMM2: Enhanced Memories (512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM) ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Enhanced Memories
Serial Number None
Module Size 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 2.0-3-3-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:01 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
what brand ram is it?.....is it called "enhanced memories" if so take it out of your computer and throw it as far away as possable


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Ram Test
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:56 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
Mushkin. Blue. 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM
I did a MemTest on each modual ( I have 2 X 512 ) One came up 32 errors. The other 80 errors. Coinsidence?
Funny thing is I bought this Ram before and it as well had errors on it.
Are Ram allowed so many errors or should there be none?


Any suggestions?
Thanx
David

p.s. the company it shows is:

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Enhanced Memory Systems, Inc.
Product Information http://www.edram.com/doc/Products/overview.asp


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:13 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
i have two sticks of mushkin blue 512 =1 gig. so thats good quality memory. i havent had a chance to run memtest on my two sticks yet so maybe someone else can tell you what they got.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Fixed the (RAM) error problem
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:45 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
In my Bios I switched the memory to AUTO and now I show no
more errors. I bet this was the problem all along with my games
crashing.
Thanx for your help.
David


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:55 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
good catch. not a problem


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:31 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 22
Just did Painkiller set with a higher resolution, all Video Quality at best,
Did Two Hours of Fraggin with no error or crashes. What a thrill. I hope
someone else can learn from this.

Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2 v2.0

In my Bios I switched the memory to AUTO .

Now for some more fraggin.....:)

David.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group