Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: newly built gaming pc isn't doing to good in gaming
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 7:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 6:45 pm
Posts: 75
i just built a computer with a P4 3.0 ghz processor, a radeon 9200 128 mb video card, 512 mb dual channel 3200 ram, and 120 gb 7200 rmp hard drive, and still when i play some warcraft III over the internet the screen will pause then start up again every once in a while, somethimes even go as far that i will get dreaded, "waiting for host message" . Can someone please help me i have no clue whats wrong. :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:04 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
that video card sucks for gamming, you should get at least a radeon 9800 Pro


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:11 pm 
Team Badger
Team Badger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2679
Location: Center of the Universe
agreed, the 9200 sucks so much its worth lying about it's features in order to convince someone to get something better.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:55 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:23 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Not where i want to be......
depends on what games you play, but as far as newer "top notch" games go, yeah it sucks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 7:01 am 
like a rock - waitaminute, I AM a rock
like a rock - waitaminute, I AM a rock
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:48 am
Posts: 2252
Although ignoring the post almost entirely seems to be the order of the day for my PC brethren ...

What kind of internet connection do you have? The "Waiting for Host" message can only come from the lack of throughput in your line - whatever that may be.

The 9200, while not great, should play Warcraft 3 just fine. If you don't have broadband that could be the culprit for this issue. If you do have broadband, do you have a router or home network setup of some sort? It might be configured incorrectly.

Additionally Battle Net has never been great on stability. I remember that message from many moons ago. Depending on their network traffic it might not even be your issue. Do you notice anything else happening in games that would denote anything other than a generally bad graphics card choice?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: newly built gaming pc isn't doing to good in gaming
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 7:37 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
captainjohnny wrote:
i just built a computer with a P4 3.0 ghz processor, a radeon 9200 128 mb video card, 512 mb dual channel 3200 ram, and 120 gb 7200 rmp hard drive, and still when i play some warcraft III over the internet the screen will pause then start up again every once in a while, somethimes even go as far that i will get dreaded, "waiting for host message" . Can someone please help me i have no clue whats wrong. :(


Just like Obsidian said, the error you are getting has nothing to do with your system. It's either one of three things:

-Your internet connection
-Battle.net's internet connection
-Or Whoever created the games internet connection.

Typically, it is a combination of battle.net and people still stuck using 56k connections.

Unfourtunately, this is all to common on Battle.net, so, it's normal.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 5:15 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:59 pm
Posts: 1579
Location: Straight Up, Extra Dry, With a Twist!
Number One: Your Vid Card
Number 2: RAM

Not to offend, but your machine sounds like something a brick and mortar store will try to package and sell as a "gaming" machine. Make a few small upgrades (a 9800 pro, or the equivalent nVidia based card) and drop a little more RAM into that box and you should be up and running better.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:43 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:25 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Staten Island, New York
Liquid86 wrote:
Number One: Your Vid Card
Number 2: RAM

Not to offend, but your machine sounds like something a brick and mortar store will try to package and sell as a "gaming" machine. Make a few small upgrades (a 9800 pro, or the equivalent nVidia based card) and drop a little more RAM into that box and you should be up and running better.


i concur... sounds abit weak in the RAM and CARD areas.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:32 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
Liquid86 wrote:
Number One: Your Vid Card
Number 2: RAM


I am sorry but his Video Card and amount of RAM has nothing to do with the "Waiting for Host" message he is getting from Battle.net.

His computer, while not the latest and greatest, is more than sufficeint to play Warcraft 3.

His problem is either his slow internet connection, or whomever is hosting the battle.net game's slow internet connection. Or as is sometimes the case, Battle.net itself.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:08 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:57 pm
Posts: 52
Yo if you want a kick-ass upgrade card...get the BFG 6800OC with a 50$ rebate right now ...it's a great card for gaming. I think it's for sale at best buy in the states.

It's the same price as the 9800 pro but it's a better card IMHO
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1083715895205&skuId=6727081&type=product&cmp=++


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:15 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:06 am
Posts: 4
This has nothing to do with your system. While the parts are not the best on the market they are more than enough to run war3 with little problems.

Like stated earlier it has something to do with your internet connection. Quite possibly you need to configure your windows firewall to allow bnet games.

go here
http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=msi0423p
or the forums here
http://www.battle.net/forums/board.aspx?ForumName=opensupport


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group