Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Doom 3?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 7:30 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 5:50 pm
Posts: 312
In the October issue there is a review of Doom 3. All the talk seems to be of "is my computer Doom 3 worthy?" In the issue, page 60 there is stated "... greatest Radeon X800 and GeForce 6800 boards, which can't even run the game at its highest possible detail levels." And that's it... nothing else is even said about that little tid bit of info. I was left with a huge question mark in my mind... What computer will run this? What about the Alienware ALX computers with the double video cards? Nothing was even mentioned about higherend computers.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 7:38 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
i guess it's because they had no access to this kind of setup. one can only assume that two videocards are better than one. (money and prices not withstanding)

My guess? 1600x1200x32 4xAA 8xAniso should be fine for 2x6800gt/u. maybe a 2x6600gt setup w/ 2xAA and 4xAniso. This coupled with the fastest Intel proc. and AMD procs when chipsets and PCI-E 16x and 8x are ready.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:22 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
To run the game at full on Ultra Settings you need a 512 mb videocard, due to uncompressed textures for each level being around 500 mb or so.

Of course, there are NO 512 mb cards yet, probobly in another 6-12 months.

But you can run doom 3 on a GeForce 6800 Ultra at high resolutions and high quality. Frame rates will drop to around 35-40 FPS but it is playable. Check out the reviews at hardocp and anandtech.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:18 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Im sure they mean max res and everything. I wouldnt worry too much about it. My 9600xt 256 will play the game just fine on ultra settings at 1024x768. Its a little smoother set back down on high tho.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 7:31 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:29 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Boston
I can run it on my laptop on my mobility radeon 9700 w/128mb vid mem. at 1024x768x32....no AA tho.

Runs ok, a little choppy when there's fog or when there's like 14 Imps in a room throwing fireballs. Gamma is a little low also.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:09 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 786
I read that you can barely see a difference in detail between the high and ultra settings anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
Hairpuller wrote:
I read that you can barely see a difference in detail between the high and ultra settings anyway.


The difference is compression used on the textures. Ultra is designed for 512mb+ video cards and has no compression. High is for 256mb cards and utilizes compression. That's the only difference between the two modes.

Visual acuity is almost nil. But we won't know for 100% because there are no consumer 512mb cards out there to test against.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:03 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 786
None are out, but people seem to be running ultra without much of a problem, or so they say.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 3:21 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
Hairpuller wrote:
None are out, but people seem to be running ultra without much of a problem, or so they say.


There's probably some sort of main memory texture buffer, and/or they're not playing at max resolution...which is where the benefit of the uncompressed extures will come in.

Doom3 uses massive textures...1600x1200, to get the amount of detail you need you need some big textures. We're talking Sheik brand Big-Man size texture sizes here. ;-)


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.