Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Doom 3 (5.1) Audio Problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:55 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
Wassup guys, hope someone can help me on this one!

I'm having audio problems with doom3, surround sound only lasts for 3 min of gameplay before it shuts off...... I turn off surround sound and the sound comes back, I turn it on again but still only lasts for 3 minutes before the sound shuts off...... What could be wrong?

I have an Creative Labs Audigy 2 sound card and Logitech Z640 5.1 speakers....

Thanx in advance!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:31 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:27 pm
Posts: 1115
Location: Binghamton University
Updating your audio drivers may solve the problem:

http://us.creative.com/support/downloads/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:44 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
I'm downloading driver and EAX4.0 updates...... I really hope that solves the problem!..... I'll keep you posted, thanx!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:53 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:27 pm
Posts: 1115
Location: Binghamton University
no problem :)

good luck


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:38 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:16 pm
Posts: 24
Loss of Sound with Doom3...found source!!

FYI, I was one of those ATI X800XT PE people having sound issues with Doom 3 and my Audigy 2 ZS. Someone over on ATITool forums had same problems. He discovered it's the ATITool .20 & .21. I have comfirmed with my PC. I had ATI Tool .20 running at all times, I couldn't get true 5.1 to work. I installed .21 today. When I shut off ATITool .21. I had no surround speaker issues with D3 didn't have to back down hardware acceleration to "Basic" either for less appealing sound to me. W1zzard is looking into why ATITool is effecting D3 sound for ATI peoples.

Pale


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:18 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
Updating drivers for Audigy 2 sound cards wont fix the problem, from what I've read so far it's a problem within the game...... Many people are waiting for the first doom 3 patch to fix the problem....

Thanx everyone for your posts!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:31 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am
Posts: 15
This is the answer I got from the Activision Staff:

Hello, I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you are having with our product.

1)Install the 3rd party "kxproject" Drivers. They Work on all EMU10K model sound card chipsets. They can be downloaded here;
http://kxproject.lugosoft.com/index.php?skip=1

2) Open up "DoomConfig.CFG in your "Doom 3\base\" folder. Scroll down to the entry "seta s_maxSoundsPerShader "0"

and change the "0" to a "1." Save it.

3) If you feel the sound problem is interfering with the games ability to RUN at all. You can go into the SYSTEM

control panel, and then to the HARDWARE TAB, then to DEVICE MANAGER, under "sound video and game controllers" right

click your sound card and click disable. Reboot and then relaunch game to see if the issue is resolved.

4) Again make sure your Bus is not over clocked. Over clocking the bus also over clocks your PCI bus and speed.

Normal PCI speed is 33mhz, if you raise that, it will effect the stability of all PCI cards that are stressed.

If the problem persists, I would like you to generate and send to us a directx diagnostic file. This will greatly aid us in troubleshooting your system. To do this we ask that you do the following.
1) Click on the Start button > Run.
2) In the box type: dxdiag
3) Click the OK button.
4) DirectX Diagnostic Tool will open, click the Save All Information button at the bottom.
5) Save the dxdiag.txt file to your desktop.
6) Login to your account at http://activision.custhelp.com.
7) Click My Stuff and then click Questions.
8) Find your current incident and click on it under the Subject column.
9) Click Update Incident.
10) Under "Attach Additional Documents to Question" you will see a Browse button. Click that and browse your computer for the Dxdiag on your desktop. When you locate the file, double click on it.
11) Once the file appears as attached, you can now enter any additional information about your Incident in the "Results and/or Additional Information" field.
12) Click "Submit Update to Question" to send the Dxdiag


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group