Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Doom III SMP Aware?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:01 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
So was/is there any word if Doom 3 will take advantage of multiple processors?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:12 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
if it does woot, i got dual xeons waiting


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:34 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
i would imagine so if quake 3 did back 4 years ago.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:37 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
So would I, but does anyone know for sure?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 10:10 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 216
Doom 3 is does NOT support SMP, Carmack prefers the elegant approach to single cpu's.

Quote:
http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/doom3/printable_6103236.html
We haven't gone through all that decision-making yet. But I think for our next project, we'll probably take a PC-centric approach, given what John Carmack said at his programming keynote at the Game Developers Conference this past spring. He said he didn't really like the technical aspects of the [next] generation of consoles--in terms of Xbox 2 and PlayStation 3--with their multithread approach, dual GPUs, and dual processors. They don't have the simple, elegant approach of a single CPU and a single GPU. Given that's where John thinks you can do the most exciting things from a technology standpoint, I expect that's where he's going to go from a programming standpoint.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:57 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
ok, but i dont really care it doesnt affect me as i only have a single proc anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:10 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
dargon wrote:
Doom 3 is does NOT support SMP, Carmack prefers the elegant approach to single cpu's.

Quote:
http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/doom3/printable_6103236.html
We haven't gone through all that decision-making yet. But I think for our next project, we'll probably take a PC-centric approach, given what John Carmack said at his programming keynote at the Game Developers Conference this past spring. He said he didn't really like the technical aspects of the [next] generation of consoles--in terms of Xbox 2 and PlayStation 3--with their multithread approach, dual GPUs, and dual processors. They don't have the simple, elegant approach of a single CPU and a single GPU. Given that's where John thinks you can do the most exciting things from a technology standpoint, I expect that's where he's going to go from a programming standpoint.


I've read through this about three or four times and it sounds like the guy who wrote the article doesn't know either, because of the way he seems to be paraphrasing most of Carmack's keynote.

Using phrases such as "I expect..." means that the guy who wrote this article is speculating doesn't know for sure either.

Does anyone have a definite answer here and not just speculation and conjecture?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:04 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Flytrap7 wrote:
dargon wrote:
Doom 3 is does NOT support SMP, Carmack prefers the elegant approach to single cpu's.

Quote:
http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/doom3/printable_6103236.html
We haven't gone through all that decision-making yet. But I think for our next project, we'll probably take a PC-centric approach, given what John Carmack said at his programming keynote at the Game Developers Conference this past spring. He said he didn't really like the technical aspects of the [next] generation of consoles--in terms of Xbox 2 and PlayStation 3--with their multithread approach, dual GPUs, and dual processors. They don't have the simple, elegant approach of a single CPU and a single GPU. Given that's where John thinks you can do the most exciting things from a technology standpoint, I expect that's where he's going to go from a programming standpoint.


I've read through this about three or four times and it sounds like the guy who wrote the article doesn't know either, because of the way he seems to be paraphrasing most of Carmack's keynote.

Using phrases such as "I expect..." means that the guy who wrote this article is speculating doesn't know for sure either.

Does anyone have a definite answer here and not just speculation and conjecture?
thats what i was thinking as well. it sounded like that was an old quote before the game was even done as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:36 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
well i dunno if it does take adv of 2 cpus or not, i got 2, but i cant see how im supposed to compare it with other computers/ 3d cards


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:27 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 216
athlon11 wrote:
thats what i was thinking as well. it sounded like that was an old quote before the game was even done as well.


Heh, you should probably check the source of the quote before you comment on the date, it was published on July 22. Not to mention that the quote is from Todd Hollenshead, ID's CEO.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 8:53 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Azn wrote:
well i dunno if it does take adv of 2 cpus or not, i got 2, but i cant see how im supposed to compare it with other computers/ 3d cards


Run Doom III, hit alt-tab, open up the task manager and see if Doom III is using both CPUs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 8:56 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
dargon wrote:
athlon11 wrote:
thats what i was thinking as well. it sounded like that was an old quote before the game was even done as well.


Heh, you should probably check the source of the quote before you comment on the date, it was published on July 22. Not to mention that the quote is from Todd Hollenshead, ID's CEO.


Despite the source of the quote, there's still no definite answer.

I'm going to see what they're saying over at 2cpu.com


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 9:02 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Ok here's what one of the options I found over at 2cpu:

====================================
I just picked up my copy last night and I did the following at the console:

set r_useSMP 1

I then did:

listcvars

and indeed it shows:

r_useSMP = "1"

Are you sure there is no SMP support? I have a dual Xeon 2.6ghz system and I ran timedemo demo1 five times with and without it enabled. Without it enabled my average was 43 fps. With it enabled the average was 50 fps. Seems to be working to me.
====================================

So it appears that it's no officially supported, but it is possible to enable, however the benefits aren't all that impressive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 9:04 am 
Solid as a rock
Solid as a rock
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:15 am
Posts: 396
Would it have that same effect with HT cpu's


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:28 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:08 pm
Posts: 80
It looks like it supports SMP/HT out of the box.

Don't have gimp 2 installed yet on this machine. I'll post screen in a sec.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:37 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:08 pm
Posts: 80
http://gallery.colby.dhs.org/shuttle75s/doom3smp

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group